The Banana Splits Movie (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
114 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
What insanity! What genius!
getconedproductions0930 August 2019
The Banana Splits Directed by Danishka Esterhazy. Written by Scott Thomas and Jed Elinoff

Whose idea was this? I want to be a fly on the wall during this meeting. I want to hear what transpired during the green lighting process. It must have been magical. This show hasn't been on the air in over 50 years. We're going to take it and turn it into a horror movie. This is brilliant. Not a bunch of money brilliant but genius enough to throw out there.

It was way more cynical than that. They really wanted to make a Five Nights at Freddy's movie but lost the rights to Blumhouse. Warner Brothers said to hell with it. We're going to do something similar but we will use an obscure Hanna-Barbera show from the 60s in its place. What?! Usually when an idea like this comes down the turnpike, cocaine is to blame. Now I'm not so sure.

This is quite the oddity. It takes some time to get into the groove of it. It is also not trying to be scary in any way. It is goofy and over the top. But of course it's goofy and over the top. It's a killer kiddie show. It has to embrace it's wild roots. Silly cartoon voices for the robot characters. Glowing red eyes to indicate when they've switched to the dark side.

The gore set pieces are cartoonish in exaggeration. We've got them making use of a giant lollipop. We got the good old fashioned saw someone in half magic trick. They run the obstacle course. Death in the ball pit. They are supposed to be robots but they basically move like people in costumes. The weapons are flimsy. You laugh at it. You have to laugh at it at least a little bit.

The best part is the last twenty minutes or so. The movie takes the entire Banana Splits show and starts to make it grungy and dirty and nasty. They descend into the bowels of the studio into a hidden theater to uncover the robots have taken over everything and are unleashing gory hell. It is a magical moment. Those last twenty minutes really helped this movie get over the lack of atmosphere that permeates the beginning of the film. It is a flat looking movie until then but you can tell they made this movie quickly and for cheap. No problems here.

The acting is atrocious. The concept is goofy and laughable right from the get go. It bears all the tell tale hallmarks of a rip off. But once the Banana Splits start killing off members of the audience and the crew, it becomes a good time. The show at the end with the producer who is canceling them enacting their namesake is a treat to behold. I give this movie a C. It is worth checking out if you like your horror on the comedic side.
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
So-so
preppy-329 September 2019
Nine year old Harley is celebrating his birthday. He's going to a taping of the Banana Splits TV show with his mom, stepdad, older brother and friend Zoe. The Banana Splits are actually robots under their costumes. Then, during the course of the show, they find out they're going to be canceled. They malfunction, go crazy and start attacking and killing people. Can Harley and his family escape?

It's basically a one-joke film. The premise is great but they don't let totally loose with it. It was never funny or scary enough to totally succeed. There's plenty of graphic gore and they (thankfully) use practical effects. With one exception the acting is good even by the kids. Only Steve Lund disappoints as the stepdad. He has this I-don't-want-to-be-here look on his face throughout And yes--there's room for a sequel. So not a total washout but no great movie either.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not Bad But Not Really Good Either
jonathancupp6618 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I don't know for sure that this movie was a repurposed script for a Five Nights at Freddy's movie, but it certainly seems like it. You've got to admire the tenacity of the producer's to make a gory indie horror film based on a 60s kid show, though.

All I knew of the series had been the song, memorably covered by The Dickies, and some spot they used to show on the Boomerang network. Every once in a while you hear about an idea to make an R-Rated movie based on a kids property (like the original idea for James Gunn's Scooby Doo) but these guys actually did it. Despite the novel idea, it's more-or-less your average made-for-cable slasher movie with few exceptions.

First, the sets and costumes have a certain novelty. The juxtaposition of cartoon imagery with gory death and dismemberment has a certain charm. It's not unlike a 90s Full Moon Pictures movie in a lot of way.

And second, the performances are surprisingly good almost across the board. The script is sort of lackluster and obvious but the actors do a credible job of bringing their characters to life. For me, Dani Kind as Beth, Richard White as Stevie and Naledi Majola as Paige were all exceptional and I'd like to see them in more genre work.

Otherwise it's just OK, watchable but gets a bit tiresome after a while. I probably enjoyed the first half before the robots went berserk more than the second and that's something.
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Awfully written
adeleysim5 September 2019
This could have been good. I thought it was an amusing concept and it developed okay. However, it quickly went from a 5 to a 2 right around the middle of the movie. There is no semblance of logic in the creatures' behavior and the victims' reactions.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stupid, awful, and weird - and not in a good way!
hellrayzor6 September 2019
This movie apparently takes place in an alternate universe where:

1) The Banana Splits TV show from the late 1960's is still airing in 2019.

2) The Banana Splits themselves are killer robots.

Wow.

The "plot" is that when the network cancels the Banana Splits TV show, the Banana Splits (who are not actors in suits, but rather killer robots) begin killing the show's producers and fans on the set.

Why are the Banana Splits killer robots? No idea. Does it make any sense? Not in the slightest. Is it any good? No, not even in a "so bad it's good" kind of way. The whole thing is just weird, dumb, and poorly made. It's obviously not meant to be taken seriously, and yet it isn't really a parody or comedy either. It just falls flat on every level.

And just think. Someone actually said "Let's remake the Banana Splits TV show, but instead of being a light hearted slapstick comedy, it will be a gore movie! And instead of being actors in suits, they will be killer robots!" And then that person pitched this to someone else who said "That's a great idea, here's a ton of money to make it!" It boggles the mind.

And who exactly is this movie made for anyways? It's certainly not a tribute to the original TV show for kids - fans of the original show will have their childhood memories of their beloved comedic slapstick characters destroyed by seeing them transformed into killer robots in a gore movie.

Fans of the Five Nights At Freddy's game will find this to be a pale imitation / rip-off.

I guess fans of really stupid, poorly written, poorly acted, gory horror movies with bad CGI and gore effects, who have never seen, or feel no connection to, the original TV show MIGHT like this. But check your brain at the door. Or better yet, check out something like KILLER CLOWNS FROM OUTER SPACE instead.

Weird, stupid, and terrible. If you absolutely must see it, don't waste your money on it. Download it or wait for it to pop up on cable.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Goofy, Gory Good Time!
austinjrutherford13 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It's by no means perfect, but I was pretty impressed with how well it was made in terms of the camera work and special effects. Yeah, it's cheesy in spots, but it seemed pretty well-written considering what they had to go off of. There's some pretty gory and inventive kills toward the end with a slight plot twist. If you're in any way a fan of campy B-horror movies, then open up your nostalgic heart and give this film a watch!
36 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The fact it's Banana Splits made me give it one more star... Warning: Spoilers
I only heard about this a couple of weeks ago and read nothing about it to avoid ruining my viewing pleasure as I love a good bad movie as much as I do a good one.

Oh my god... So bad...

There is no tension at all, the characters are wooden and mostly unlikable. I'm glad that most people died, I only wish more had had the decency to die in it.

The Splits themselves are slow and cumbersome, even their car which is used to run a guy down (eventually) is so slow that the victim is able to out run it!?

I liked that it's the Banana Splits, I like that the footage is not great quality so it looks like it's from the late '70's to early '80's but then they ruin it by (I think) setting it in the modern day as everyone has smartphones...

Ok, there are a couple of 'ok' scenes but honestly; just don't waste your time or money on this as you'll regret it.
27 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really not worth watching at all...
fueledbyboredom25 August 2019
The idea of The Banana Splits being murderous robots sounded fun when I first heard about it, and I was genuinely excited to see what they did with it. But after actually seeing the movie, I really wish they tried harder to make something interesting and fun to watch rather then try to beat Five Nights at Freddy's out the door.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not Enough Heart
HighFlyer_1523 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The idea of FNAF on the big screen could totally work but it doesn't when the movie tries to convince you that these robots are so advanced that they can move like humans in some scenes and in other scenes they move like, well, robots(with added robot sounds). Going from incredibly fluid motions to a poor man's robot dance breaks the immersion of "killer robots on the loose" and it just ends up feeling like a movie about guys in suits having had enough of their job and now they want to kill people.

The gore is fine whenever it's there. Some of the kills are very silly which is fine. And some of them are very poorly executed. A certain fire scene has the quality of a Youtuber who just figured out how to use After Effects for the first time.

The acting is quite bad. A few actors are doing what they can and pulling it off but most of the cast is really bad. The adult fans of the show are overacting to the point where it hurts to hear them speak. I get it, the older brother is meant to be awkward but it's taken to the next level with lines being spoken poorly.

The camera work is what saves the movie in my opinion. If whoever was behind the camera had done a worse job the movie would've been a 1* for me but it's not terrible in that regard.

Overall, I can see why some of the people in the review section love it but it's clear they can't see past their excitement and review the movie as a movie. I loved the Mortal Kombat Annihiliation movie as a kid but we all know how terrible that one is. And I love Venom as a movie but I'm not biased enough to say it's a master piece 10/10 like people here.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
There's no explaining this mess.
smidebarry25 August 2019
If you're looking for the utter ridiculous and non-scary Horror film then this ones for you. At no moment does this film offer a glimpse of tension and or horror that is palpable in any way. It's devoid of impact and any motive worth wasting your time on.
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
One Banana, Two Banana, Three Banana, gore!
robinsonaustin-0749019 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
So, Five Nights at the Banana Splits. Putting the alleged rumor that the film was based on the original script Warner Brothers had for FNAF before the rights were transferred over to Bloomhouse Productions aside, the movie was a mixed bag. I liked the gore to it; there were probably two scenes in the film where it was uniquely done, but the effects were a little artificial as in blood and guts are spilled, but it was mostly obvious to tell it was fake. The designs of the Banana Splits themselves were also pretty decent considering that they are animatronics in this version.

The acting was mediocre. The main actor playing the young Harley does an okay job, but the character he plays lacks some considerable common sense. His mother, is also okay, but the generic "I'm trying to keep everything together" mom. His older brother Austin, I disliked because every line he said sounded like he was whining constantly.

This is kind of where the story falls flat on its face. When the animatronics go on their killing spree, there isn't any kind of emotional output from the characters. It's as if they're bored of the idea of getting gruesomely killed by robots. You can't really bring yourself to care about any of the characters which is one of the many traits that horror movies suffer from. The writing was also predictable, and did not try to do anything new.

I can't honestly say that I can recommend the film because while it isn't bad, it's nothing that's any different from your standard slasher films but this time, it includes Hana Barbara characters. But if you are intrigued by the idea of a movie subverting childhood shows, by all means give it a watch. It is bile fascination at its finest.
18 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Tra La La
Prismark1020 August 2019
I was a fan of the Banana Splits as a kid so disappointed that this instalment has no segments of The Arabian Nights or The Three Musketeers!

I doubt many people under the age of 45 years of age may even know about The Banana Splits so would not be too bothered that some kids show characters has been turned into stars of a horror film.

Set in an universe where the Banana Splits television show is still being made. This is in fact a gory version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

A group of people go to the taping of the show. Our hero Harley is a big Banana Splits fan and it is his birthday, so his family plan a special outing. Some others include a girl with a pushy parent who thinks his daughter can be the next big star. A vlogger with his girlfriend who plans to broadcast from his mobile phone.

However the new network head plans to cancel the show and the robotic puppets having heard the news go on a murderous rampage. The show must go on and on for the demented Banana Splits.

There is some grisley carnage and black humour. You kind of hope some people will get slaughtered such as Harley's stepfather, you just know he is not on that mobile phone to stay in touch with his office.

The film has a variety of ways of annihilating some of the characters. It is a shame that security is so lax at the studio where the show is taped.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible
day-105897 September 2019
I wanted to like this movie because I used to love the Banana Splits as a kid. I understood the genre of the movie was to be a bit dark because it's a horror movie but my god this movie is terrible. The acting is horrendous and it makes you wonder if these people actually auditioned for the parts or if they were just given to the first people the producer seen.

I stuck with it for the hour and a half duration, why I don't know because this could easily be the worst movie I've ever seen.

They would have been better making a movie about how the Banana splits began, a bit like a biography but instead they tried to make a horror movie and it failed miserably.

I've given it a generous 2 star rating and that's being kind and it's only because the Banana split characters look exactly how I remembered them and the theme song was in there.

Do not waste your time on this movie.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A good blood,guts.gore and suspense movie.
casayne14 August 2019
I purchased and watched this movie today as soon as it came out. Blood and guts are not my usual kind of movie but I wanted to see how Steve Lund, my favorite actor, was in this type of movie. His acting was excellent,as I had expected.If you like blood,guts, gore and suspense you will surely like this movie. Steve Lund's acting was excellent, as I expected. If you like blood,guts,suspense and gore than you will surely like this movie.
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'm sorry you didnt get it.
mikwlsn14 August 2019
Not only was this so ridiculous and a crazy fun time but a good few parts genuinely creeped me out. This movie is supposed to be ridiculous. It's a revised five nights freddy's script!! Great movie
35 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Such a bad idea and an even worse result
jmolta25 August 2019
This is a horrible film not a Horror film, and that's being polite about it.
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Soooo Bad
graf-9790525 August 2019
The only thing scary about this film is trying to figure out why it was made in the first place. Better yet who thought this film was a good idea. So incredibly bad.
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
No idea who this is aimed at.
girlychemist24 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It wasn't bad enough to be good. The lad playing Hartley simply wasn't good enough and the girl playing Zoe ran rings round him. The stepdad is an adulterer so when he dies none of his family react - at all! The robot splits where moving and talking like you'd find in a small child's TV programme but the gore and violence where adult. The whole thing didn't seem to know who it's audience is. My husband and I kept saying 'Size of an elephant' etc afterwards.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What is wrong with the whiny babies that are offended by this movie
lchaney-8967013 August 2019
Just bought this movie I watched it this morning as soon as it was released. It is awesome the video quality is great the acting is great for the most part. The special effects are great and the humor is perfect in the right places. You could actually believe that this is what would have really happened back in the early 70s. I love this movie I'm glad I bought it and I will watch it over and over again and show it to all my friends the only thing I have to say is I hope that there's going to be a sequel because it will be great if it was made like the first one.
47 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nice concept, average execution
anthonyjlangford20 August 2019
Like many I suppose, I was drawn to the novelty factor having the iconic Banana Splits made into a modern horror film. I was all for the concept and the basic premise is quite a good one. However the film takes itself far too seriously for it to actually work properly.

It's a ridiculous setup so there should be some humour involved. It's all delivered with such a straight face that after a while it becomes an ordinary, if not bland, slasher film.

The first execution is quite fun but after that these bananas are slipping on their own dropped peels. A shame but ultimately it's pretty dull.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Complete garbage
lfester4516 October 2019
I had my hopes up after watching Happy, thinking SyFy might actually have a good movie for the first time in history. This was worse than any Sharknado movie. Save yourself the 90 minutes and just punch yourself in the balls now
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really fun
qbarkdude13 August 2019
This is a special type of movie that is stupid but knows it's kind of stupid. I really enjoyed the deaths and Splits themselves. I never knew what was gonna happen next. There are some good scenes which are well passed and eerie. There are of course the clichés that are in every low budget horror movie. But they work because of the solid writing and good characters. I was always excited to see what happened next. I would have liked more dialogue from the Splits themselves. Hell, I would have loved if they were in the movie more period. But as it is, it's not amazing, but it's pretty good. Give it a watch before you give it 1 star.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I highly recommend if stupid movies are your cup of tea
Alexander_Storms10 August 2019
By no means is this movie good in a cinematic sense, but if you want have a gory stupid fun time I highly recommend at least a watch. You won't regret it, even if you were one of the fan boys that were trashing on the trailer. Ironic rating 10/10 Legitimate rating 6-7/10
28 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I love it so much more than I thought I would!
UniqueParticle8 November 2019
Super adorable, creepy and disturbing fun! Unexpected how gory it is; I really like that! Poorly acted, but beautiful set design and entertaining. A lot of people didn't like The Banana Splits movie but I love it although I never saw the original show something like this is endearing morbid greatness, at least to me.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Blatant FNAF Rip-Off
jeremycrimsonfox14 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
When I heard of this film, I was shocked, as it took a classic show from the 1960's and turned it into a horror movie, but seeing the trailer, I was appalled that they decided to make the Banana Splits killer animatronics, which makes this film a cheat attempt at making money off the upcoming Five Nights At Freddy's movie, as people said it was made with a script created for a FNAF film until the creator hated it so much, he took the movie rights from Warner Bros.

I would not blame them. In the movie, Drooper is treated like the Foxy of the group, as he almost runs over Harley, the kid who comes to the last show on their birthday, and becomes the first to turn evil. Also, some of the kills are ridiculous and defy logic (like Drooper killing Stevie by shoving a lolliop down his throat, with blood coming out). Also, the side characters are nothing more clichés (like the father pushing her daughter, Parker, to stardom, Stevie, the alcoholic co-star of the Splits, and a couple who are Banana Splits fanatic and sneak a phone in to get some footage). Also, the movie is not exciting. I think it all depends on whether or not you grew up with the Banana Splits as a kid, but to me, this movie stinks because Warner Bros. took a franchise beloved by 60's and 70's kids and twisted it in order to beat a movie adaption to a indie survival horror game franchise they used to have the rights for, all in the name of making a quick buck.
30 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed