Incoming (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
31 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Forget this exists
im_southy9 May 2018
Seriously, there's nothing good about this movie. The plot and script are sensationally bad. I'm a huge fan of Scott Adkins but I don't know what he's even doing in this movie. I'm pretty sure he just had a free Tuesday and he owed someone a favour. There is not one single positive to take from this, not even the fight choreography which Adkins films have been noted for.

In short, do not waste your time. It's kind of similar to Lockout with Guy Pierce and Maggie Grace but somehow manages to make that movie look like a maserpiece in comparison.
32 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not a grabber, to put it mildly
Wizard-83 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
While I don't think this movie is quite as bad as some other user commenters have labelled it, I will agree that it is a pretty bad B movie. And this opinion comes from someone who usually likes to watch low budget B movies. The biggest problems with the movie don't come from its somewhat cheap look and feel, but that there is precious little in the movie to grab you and keep your interest. For example, there is almost no action in the first half of the movie. And while there is more action in the second half, it is usually choreographed, edited, and directed in a way that is not only quite drab, it is also often hard to follow. The footage surrounding the action footage is even worse, with characters often standing around and not doing much of anything. The movie is padded with talk, and it's not particularly engaging talk. The script does provide a minor plot twist towards the end, but it's too little and too late. Even if you are a Scott Adkins fan like myself, this is one effort of his that is best avoided.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do youselve a favor and watch Lockout instead
kaefab8 May 2018
This movie is quit bad, but what to expect another C grave bad acted movie with Scott Adkins, i used to really like that guy but is decent in the bad movie making and old style martial arts is getting old real fast.

The FX for this movie are terrible as is the acting, do yourself a favor and watch Lockout with Guy Pierce and Maggie Grace instead top notch effect and a much better movie.
42 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Horrible Ending
fosterbrian-850242 August 2018
I feel for Scott Adkins because this guy should be getting much better movies you should be the new James Bond to be hone. Please Mr Atkins do a Ninja sequel. You are a skilled actor and fighter.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dodge this one......
s327616918 May 2018
Incoming is one to dodge at all costs. Its been a long time since I have seen an action flick this bad.

The void of space in which it is set is an ideal metaphor for its absence of worthwhile story line, decent narrative and character development. Worse still its violence is of the pointless, gratuitous variety, further adding to the overriding sense of pervasive, leaden awfulness, that Incoming represents.

Nothing can save this one from the bargain bin of doom. 0/10 from me.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun movie
Booster-Gold17 May 2018
I'm not sure why the reviews are painting this as glaringly bad. It's by far not close to a 1 star film. Storyline was pretty decent, the space prison taken over by the prisoners theme has been done before but I personally don't think it's overused. Scott Adkins as usual is an awesome action star. The choreography of the few fight scenes was well done and the acting is not half bad. The main villain does a great job in my opinion, I might have to see what other movies he's in as he seems like a decent enough actor.

It's a generally decent action movie worth a watch when you just want something fun to disappear in. Can't really fault much about it, I guess some of the CG is low budget but I didn't really expect it not to be. It isn't going to pull any Oscars but it is surely not bad. Give it a go
28 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Poor mans lockout¬
omendata18 May 2018
Made in Serbia - that did not give me good vibes from the start.

The poor cgi explosion on the Houses of Parliament in the very first scene sets the scene for how poor this one will be.

I like Scott Adkins but a quick glance at his Filmography suggests he is churning these out by the week and is just content to pickup a pay cheque - how sad for artistics integrity and his career - He doesnt seem to understand that choosing poor roles like these will put his career into a nosedive like poor old Jean Claude and numerous others like Nick Cage.

They tried to make lockout with Guy Pearce on a small budget and failed miserably with this effort - Its not quite 1 star - peeps forget this means its the worst movie you have ever seen - Its not there are much worse like "THE BAD BATCH" and "HUMANITY BUREAU" - Watch them and then tell me this is a one star.

Its still a heap of stinky dung and the old style fight scenes are looking desperately tedious now !
15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing
Borncure31 May 2018
Really expected better from Atkins. Cheap set, cheap acting and plot made me cringe. Scott don't ruine your career with this kind of garbage.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The terroists within
TheLittleSongbird29 June 2018
'Incoming' drew me into seeing it, with a cool poster/cover, an intriguing if not particularly original premise and as someone with a general appreciation for the genre. That it was low-budget, which from frequent personal experience is rarely a good sign due to that there are so many poor ones out there, made me though apprehensive as well as the low rating and poor reviews.

It is sadly however yet another film seen recently, hence some reiteration because the exact same strengths and flaws those films have are present here, that to me was incredibly disappointing considering its potential which it doesn't do anywhere near enough with. 'Incoming' is yet another terrible film, with a plethora of problems (huge ones too). There is nothing to recommend here, no redeeming qualities at all.

Scott Adkins is the least bad thing about 'Incoming'. Unfortunately that is saying little, because his material is incredibly weak and would be beneath even the worst actors. Didn't even think he looked all that comfortable or interested though there are moments where he did try his best. The acting all round is pretty diabolical, exceptions are none, with a bad mix of hamminess and phoning in.

Visually, 'Incoming' looks drab and far from slick, with a cheap, limited set that completely fails to show any sense of claustrophobia or tension. The dialogue is from the very start to the silly and anti-climactic finish has no natural flow and makes one cringe.

Characters have minimal at best development and are either bland, ridiculously annoying or both with some illogical decision making. The story is dull, never coming to life, dreary in atmosphere with no tension or suspense at all and fails to make sense too often. The action fails to excite completely and looks clumsy, further disadvantaged by bacon-slicer editing and less than cohesive filming. The direction is as flat as a pancake.

Overall, terrible. 1/10 Bethany Cox
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Soooo bad
mohamedwolf-1774228 May 2018
Very bad movie and it is not worth watching,waste of time
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
oh my god it's so bad
ivko5 November 2018
'Incoming' asks the question "what would happen if you invited the worlds most ridiculously stupid doctor to the worlds most ridiculously stupid prison?"

The "premise" of the movie is that some time in the future several governments of earth band together to construct a prison in orbit around earth where they can utilize "enhanced interrogation" without all that pesky oversight. I would say that sounds ominous, except for the fact that this is revealed with all the sophistication of a mildly learning impaired twelve-year-old's book report. The station manager is showing the good doctor the infirmary, which consists of a clean room with single medical examination table and a couple of cabinets ("looks more like a torture chamber", the doctor sniffs) when she asks what the inmates know about each other. "They don't know anything about each other," he replies. "Is that even legal!" she screeches. "What about the Geneva Convention?"

Unfortunately, the station manager isn't too bright either, because instead of saying "what in god's name are you talking about?" he instead responds with the supremely stupid "there is no Geneva Convention up here." Needless to say, in less than five minutes she runs into a prisoners room to find out how the bad man hurt him and gets taken prisoner. Sadly, instead of just saying "well, this is why we have everyone sign waivers" and turning off the oxygen in that part of the ship like any sane person would do, the rest of the crew rush out to confront all of the now freed prisoners and soon find themselves pinned down in the wrong part of the ship.

So then everyone does some stuff. Plots are hatched, speeches are given, fists are flying, none of it particularly thrilling. In the end the good guys win, I guess. And we all learn a valuable lesson about something.

A couple of random funny tidbits. Early in the film the characters discuss how they are using "gravity modifiers" to explain why a film set in space doesn't have a single scene where anything is actually weightless. Too bad they never thought to explain why anyone would be insane enough to build a prison in a place where the cost of bringing people and supplies costs $20,000/kg. I mean come on, what exactly is the value add here? Privacy? You could get the same result with a ship floating in international waters for less than 1% of the cost!

What else? Well, I'm guessing the director really, really wanted to feel all "woke" about the humane treatment of prisoners, because three quarters of the way through the film the doctor is still giving speeches about the prisoners going public to "show the world how you've been treated." Prisoners who at this point have murdered several people and converted the spaceship into a WMD by setting it to crash into a population center.

And poor, poor station manager Kingsley. Not only did the doctor and her cohorts ignore literally every security measure he asked them to follow, but both they and the honchos on earth take every opportunity they can to complain about how all of these escaped prisoner issues are in fact his fault. Yah, that makes sense. Honestly, I don't feel like the doctor earned her "hero" role. She spends so much time scolding everyone for their actions but never confronts the reality that her actions *directly* led to the death of numerous people and the endangerment of millions of others.

All right, enough rambling. It's a bad movie.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrendous
freddy-508301 July 2018
Horrible storyline, horrible acting, horrible directing. Just, plain horrible.

It's obvious that this is a low budget film, but does low budget really have to mean that you find actors that couldn't afford to go to acting school?

The female role in this flick is by far the worst. Horrible performance by every single one of them, but she took the cake.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
sixtysevenmustang8 June 2018
I just don't have anything to say about this. I gave it 10min and had to fast forward to 40. Wasn't any better at 40min either.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Do not watch
cbodhinath11 June 2018
Don't know whether to call this an "F" grade film. It is so bad and I felt really sorry for Scott Adkins for accepting a role in this film. This man has talents but wasting everything for nothing. A real waste.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
For Scott Adkins Die Hard Fans DON'T EVER CHECK IT OUT
nikola1727 May 2018
SPOILER: well this is some kinda trick you to watch this movie and for lead role Scott Adkins movie i thought it was worst film ever in history Scott Adkins Deserved Better A LOT better, like in bigger lead role action movies not like B-CLASS CRAP this was one of the worst films ever made. the direction of movie sucked just doesn't make any sense what so ever of characters direction. Scott Adkins Role is not problem the problem is movie not him and another characters are problem. villain just SUCKED this is 5 cent junk Syfy channel movie. it does have action and Scott Kicking ass he does action in movie but movie doesn't save it at all sadly enough this is like Lockout but a lot stupid then that movie i think this movie should have it's budget, better director, better script writers. because this WASTED Scott Adkins role for no reason. story follows The International Space Station is now a prison - the ultimate black site. No one's getting out. And no one knows it's there. But when the imprisoned terrorists are Kingsley (Lukas Loughran) witch is rubbish villain in movie he is terrorist for destroying London. then SWAT or Military Found him locked him in space then 3 American Soldiers task is complicated by a rogue Reiser (Scott Adkins) Undisputed 2,3,4, Accident Man, Savage Dog, Close Range, NINJA 1 AND 2, El Gringo. Hemmings (Dominic Power), annoying woman Stone (Michelle Lehane) are 3 in group then she is their to check on prisoners then she become bit friendly with Kingsley i am like he is terrorist not some random prisoner ? some how she comes back to cell prisoner knocked her out let all another prisoners out then somehow it's outta control captain of ship is idiot in movie i swear like you want his character to die i am like eh. But when the imprisoned terrorists take over the Station and turn it into a missile aimed at Moscow, only a shuttle pilot and a rookie doctor can stop them. Their task is complicated by a rogue CIA agent (Scott Adkins) who has his own plans for the station and the terrorists within. that's his character good luck when you get to end because it's going to be somewhere else this movie doesn't make jack sense. Incoming was a gigantic mess of a movie from acting stand point, to script to even to it's plot in general. It made no freaking sense and it was boring as hell and Scott Adkins charisma was thrown threw the freaking Rubbish Bin to waste and to be honest Adkins deserves better than this film.

characters expect Scott Adkins another characters made stupid decisions in this movie like it's a comedy movie you will laugh to death this was boring, why could this have been bigger budget and make this into a horror space movie, make Scott Adkins a better role then this, sadly this story and characters direction doesn't make ANY SENSE what's so ever badly this movie is bad really wasted Scott Adkins character turns into villain for no freaking reason somehow story doesn't make sense do yourself favor there's a lot of better Scott Adkins lead role movies i can name then this. please don't get this because over Scott this will turn out to be dumbest movie ever made, ending made no sense what's ever please this is a huge dumb time waster, even Lockout should have hired Scott Adkins in that movie as lead role then to this dump, Scott is in poster for no reason. you have action scenes with Scott but not so much sadly this is waste of his talent believe me this is most worst dumbest movie then to Debt Collector believe me or not I'm a huge fan of Scott Adkins but I don't know what he's even doing in this movie. he is their for paycheck that's it, it's not worth looking There is not one single positive to take from this, not even the fight choreography which Adkins films have been noted for like you name it. He doesn't seem to understand that choosing poor roles like these will put his career into a nosedive like poor old Casper Van Dien and to Oliver Gruner style but expect Scott Adkins is little more of bigger star then to them. BELIEVE ME PEOPLE THIS IS NOT MOVIE YOU WANNA EXPECT... 1.0 1 is just for Scott and rest 0 with more ZEROS because this like movie you will get it in dump for 5 cents, their's better movies with Scott Adkins.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It really IS "okay" ...
moviehawg5930 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
*SPOILERS - one possible small spoiler* Okay ... I understand ... there will be ZERO Academy Awards presented to this movie. But ... almost 100% "1's"? I don't think so. There was some fairly good action in this movie, and ... some very "gory" fight sequences, for such an inexpensive movie. Nice little twist (that most saw coming) about halfway thru, and a typical "Americans good, everyone else ... bad" ending. While I would not plan week-end "date night" around this movie (unless your woman is a big-time Scott Adkins fan), it wouldn't be bad if there are no "first rate" movies left at the Redbox! I judge my movies simply by "was it, at least, somewhat entertaining?" ... and this one was "okay".
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
At Least They Could Have
jivaprabhu29 March 2019
If you don't want to budget for 0 gravity effects, at least explain the clunking running and pivot turning with magnetic shoes or SOMETHING. By not doing this, the makers of this movie clearly spell out how they feel about the view: DON'T CARE!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Grossly Disappointing
kefaouma16 February 2019
Just how did Scott Adkins get invested intk this disappointment of a movie?!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watch only if your a Scott Adkins fan
destroyerwod8 February 2019
This will be a short review. Honestly this movie looks CHEAP, so cheap. Right from the start you have a very poor CGI explosion and this kinda set the tone for the rest of the movie. It seem to have been filmed on a very limited and basic set with a few green screens that are barely better than in "The Room".

Scott Adkins do have a couples decent fight scenes, wich are the highlights of the movie, but outside of that, everything else feel cheap and not much interesting. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing completely atrocious about the movie exept maybe the CGI (but its such a small part) but this is the kind of movie that without Adkins named attached to it would had gone completely under the radar for me.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage with a side of WTF
colehinder5 February 2019
I seriously wonder how people get funding for movies like this. If you read the script there is confusion and a plethora of holes. I wish I could get funding to make a movie and prove a regular guy like me could write a better movie than this. The ending of Incoming was completely horrible. Made no sense.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just stick with Lockout and you will be okay
phanthinga26 January 2019
As much as I love Scott Adkins I already make up my mind by not watching his Die Hard in Space movie Incoming after hearing so much negativity from the audience and the 3.3 score only make me not want to watch it more but not until I see Scott Adkins himself making fun of the movie on Facebook that it tickle the curious side of me so on a boring ass day I finally decided to check out the movie for no particular reason other than to be blown away for how bad it is and it not a surprise that after Incoming end I actually appreciate the movie Lockout way more than it should be and learn my lesson that is "Always trust your instincts"
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Adkins must have lost a bet
horrorgasm11 January 2019
What a miserable excuse for a movie. I've seen a lot of Scott Adkins movies and even the ones with painfully low budgets and bad plots at least throw you some great Adkins fight scenes so there's at least something to enjoy about them. Not here though. Adkins is completely wasted on this sub-B-movie where there's not much at all in the way of fight scenes and when they do get around to a fight the cinematography and choreography is so bad that they really could have just thrown anyone in Adkins' role. All the zooming in and out and cutting to different angles every half second during a fight is pure amateur hour stuff and is just painful to watch. It's the kind of camera work you expect from a modern Steven Segal movie where they're trying to cover up the fact that he can't actually fight worth a damn anymore, but Adkins fans know from his other recent work that he definitely still has his moves so we can only assume that this is the result of just plain directorial incompetence.

On the plus side, at least I learned about the movie Lockout thanks to the other reviews here. People are right, that movie does this premise sooooo much better.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Simply "The Worst"
mykolaofficial15 November 2018
WARNING: Stay away from this movie or you might get a brain tumor. Horrible acting/directing and stupid writing. Just Wow.

If I could put 0 stars I would.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
One of the worst
Mjm006535 November 2018
There are few movies worse than this one. Terribly done. Fight sequences were a joke and the acting was even worse. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!! Horrible
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How do I give this less than 1 star?
lisalynne1 December 2018
Honestly, it was so bad that we kept watching just because we thought it couldn't get any worse. But it did. Every time. 80 minutes of my life that I could have spent at the dentist, listening to Nickelback, or even watching old episodes of The Apprentice and felt more fulfilled.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed