Wind River (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
441 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A slow burning, provocative gem.
Troy_Campbell11 August 2017
There has been next to no fanfare for the release of this murder mystery. Which is surprising, considering the talent involved in front of the camera (Jeremy Renner, Elizabeth Olsen) and behind it (writer-director Taylor Sheridan). Fresh from joining the ranks of top-tiered screenwriters after the amazing one-two punch of Sicario and Hell or High Water, Sheridan continues his stellar run with a heart-wrenching study of loss and grief wrapped in a taut crime thriller narrative. Also having a crack at directing, Sheridan allows the snowy Wyoming setting to completely envelope the characters in a world that feels like it has no exits, both physically and emotionally. When this Native American community is hit with a homicide it feels like another tragedy in a long line of tragedies; their shock is replaced with deeper sorrow, their outrage is replaced with solemn defeat. Entering the scene like a fish out of water, Olsen's junior FBI agent Jane Banner must traverse the tricky cultural complexities if she's to understand the clues in front of her. Luckily she has Renner's local hunter Cory Lambert to assist, himself battling with a past family disaster. Renner and Olsen are both in terrific form, the former hiding his grief under a stoic veneer, the latter balancing big-city attitude with a genuine desire to find justice for the victim. Veteran character actor Gil Birmingham is also superb as a father unsure of how to deal with his earth-shattering loss. If this all sounds a bit heavy, well it is, but Sheridan's careful to inject a healthy dose of suspense and mild action to keep the drama gripping rather than overbearing; the finale in particular turns the movie on its head in an unpredictable but extremely effective manner. An intelligent, slow burning and provocative viewing that enthrals from start to finish, Wind River is an understated gem that deserves an audience.
208 out of 243 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An Engrossing Murder Mystery That Respects Its Subject _ and Audience
kckidjoseph-116 September 2017
"Wind River" is a gripping murder mystery-thriller written and directed by Taylor Sheridan (Best Original Screenplay Oscar nominee for "Hell or High Water") starring Jeremy Renner, Elizabeth Olsen and Graham Greene, featuring an unusually strong supporting cast that includes many fine Native American actors.

Renner and Olsen play a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service tracker and an FBI agent, respectively, attempting to solve the murder of a young woman whose body is discovered by Renner under mysterious circumstances as he patrols the Wind River Indian Reservation in Wyoming.

The film scrupulously avoids clichés and is tightly edited with nary a wasted moment, yet never feels rushed or artificial in performance or plot. Everyone and everything is there for a reason, and best of all, the audience is given credit for being able to keep up and connect the dots.

The violence, which is absolutely necessary, is kept at a bare minimum as a narrative device, explaining and clarifying rather than assaulting the senses.

Every character, even the most heinous, is portrayed as a fully developed human being rather than as stereotype.

We learn how the Native American culture is victimized in a way that takes us inside their world and their souls, but the journey is skillfully handled and never heavy handed.

The photography is perfectly rendered, celebrating the icy Wyoming scenery in a muted style consistent with the mood of the story.

Renner, Olsen and Greene are excellent and believable, but in no small way this is an ensemble piece whose potency and effectiveness derive from the palpable passion and belief of everyone in front of and behind the camera.

This is an engrossing story well worth your time and money, and kudos to everyone involved for having faith that a discerning audience will find and appreciate it.
127 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Suspenseful! A perfect thriller!
www.ramascreen.com1 August 2017
The screenwriter who gave us "Sicario" and "Hell or High Water" has come back with "Wind River" which he also directed and I am now convinced more than ever that Taylor Sheridan is one of the best storytellers of our time. There's something about his thrillers that are just so cunning and sharp and profound, like a great American classic, even novelist Dennis Lehane probably couldn't come up with materials that are as skillfully played as this. And with "Wind River" Sheridan's personal artistry mission to do some effort to right the wrongs that the system has committed against the Native Americans, continues.

The story is about a rookie FBI agent (Elizabeth Olsen) who teams up with a tracker/hunter (Jeremy Renner) with a tragic past in order to investigate the murder of a local girl on a remote Native American Reservation.

Sheridan has tackled themes surrounding the Native Americans before but with this latest one, it's not so much that he's preaching about it but he ties it into this entire fabric of community where you sense the clash between outsiders and locals, between whites and natives, so there's a level of frustration about that arises from this murder investigation that brings up all kinds of cultural suspicions, on top of which there's also a game of jurisdictions. It's a complex yet cleverly woven thriller that starts out as a whodunit and evolves into a thirst for retribution. And the fact that it's set in a very cold harsh environment just adds to the film's chilling effect.

In many ways, Elizabeth Olsen performs here like Jodie Foster's Clarice Starling where at some points you kinda know that Olsen's character may be out of her elements, but at the same time that factor actually gives her a good vantage point. Jeremy Renner plays his character like an old timer western hero who knows the ins and outs of everything, a man of few words but gets tough when needed. Their dynamic is not some kind of odd couple cop duo, this is more like each of them trying to prove themselves while bringing justice to the family of the unfortunate girl. And the way Sheridan crafts the mystery from a small radius to a much larger scheme is one that will have you hooked. "Wind River" is highly suspenseful, it's a perfect thriller.

-- Rama's Screen --
195 out of 246 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well Directed, Beautifully Shot, And Quality Acting!
When actors decide they want to make the transition to the other side of the camera and direct films, it can be a dicey proposition. It makes me even more nervous when said actor to director decides they don't have the acting out of their system and want to keep acting, but with "Wind River," Taylor Sheridan (best known for "Sons of Anarchy," but also the writer of both "Sicario" and "Hell or High Water" with this completing his American Frontier Trilogy) separates himself in order to focus on directing a wonderful based-on-a-true-story tale.

Jeremy Renner plays Cory Lambert, a tracker who works for the Fish and Game Commission in Wyoming who gets caught up in the investigation of the murder of a young Native American woman on a local reservation during a series of brutal snowstorms. He partners with FBI agent Jane Banner (Elizabeth Olsen) as they try to navigate the elements and even the law as it pertains to the reservation itself and a very thin law enforcement department headed up by Gen (Graham Greene).

I know there is not much to the above summary, but that is all you really need to know about this film, besides the fact that I REALLY enjoyed it as one can do with the material involved. Make no mistake: this is a dark film that deals with very haunting subject matter, so there is quite a bit of weight to it, but Sheridan treats this story with the highest level of respect by allowing his very well written script to drive it while still shooting it beautifully. To see such beautiful landscaping (actually shot in Utah) take my breath away while still understanding the danger of what the elements bring from the wildlife to the weather and even the inhabitants add a great layer to the story, but what takes it to the next level is the score from Nick Cave and Warren Ellis (not THAT Warren Ellis) that frames each and every scene perfectly without giving what is coming up ahead.

From a performance standpoint, I really dug the way that both Renner and Olsen dialed it WAY back within their characters with Renner keeping Lambert simple and focused on the task at hand and Olsen showing how Banner is just trying to do the right thing while attempting to understand the situation she in AND asserting the authority she has representing the Bureau. Greene gives great balance and levity to their dynamic while keeping his character involved as a reminder of the heightened sensitivity of their situation.

The Weinsteins' eye for film strikes again here, and I am also looking forward to where Sheridan's career behind the camera goes as well. For this being the second time he has helmed a film, this is incredibly impressive and should at least be on your "need to check out" list if not all the way to "must see".
127 out of 164 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Heat to the Cold Sheridan's fantastic crime thrillers work beyond change in weather
Harvey Penson9 September 2017
After the southern heat of Hell or High Water, Taylor Sheridan gives us the cold wintery thriller Wind River.

In the frosty Wind River Indian Reservation of Wyoming, the body an 18 year old Native American girl is discovered by Wildlife service agent Cory Lambett (Jeremy Renner). Lambett with his knowledge of the mountain assists foreign FBI agent Jane Banner (Elizabeth Olson) to track down the killer, but also his own personal reasons wants to find the killer in an attempt to wrestle his own demons.

Inspired by true cases of missing native American girls, Wind River has cold hearted passion in its story-telling. A very melancholy murder mystery drama exploring grief and vengeance but also the neglect of the Native Americans in the mountain regions in the USA.

During a time this week while I was pondering the significance of different crime thrillers, with also the approach of the The Snowman in November, Wind River is real important stand out. The film itself although is about a murder is more centred on the atmosphere and location. Repetitive vibes of a hellish land resonate throughout the film. This mostly breathed life by the chilly aerial shots of the cold mountain land, identifying misery through the snow breeze and wind (an atmospheric format that was similar expressed in Hell or High Water). The most haunting aspect is the character brought to Wind River by Nick Cave and Warren Elis eerie soundtrack, echoing the dark past of the freezing land.

What leads us into the desolate mystery of Wind River is Jeremey Renner superb performance as the experienced hunter possessed by the past but also enriched with perception of his home land and its welcome. Renner very much appears as himself, however is a perfect casting choice with his neutral expression hiding his deeper emotions. Opposite is Elizabeth Olson, the most convincing FBI agent I've seen on screen for a while. But her city slicker style does not prepare her for the divergent law enforcement experience in the isolated Wyoming. These two leads are the perfect casting, with a enigmatic presence that makes you completely believe in them.

While Wind River has deeper meaning at its centre, Sheridan knows how to thrill his audience in quiet sensational but violent sequences. Loud sound effects of the gun shots bring light to the silent landscape that the characters dwell, and present a sense of realism to the experience.

Sheridan's third feature in his trilogy of modern American law enforcement, following, Sicario, Hell or High Water, has shown his strength in creating masterful crime thrillers with much to reflect about the real world. This capacity has also lead stronger confidence his potential prospects in directing a Bond film. 9.2/10
73 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Taylor Sheridan has done it again
wlk6823 June 2017
I was lucky enough to see this at the Nantucket Film Festival back in June and I thought it was excellent. And based on the response of the people around me in the packed theater, I wasn't the only one. The applause at the end was loud and long. The movie ended up coming in second at the festival, right behind behind The Big Sick.

I enjoyed it as much as, if not more than, Hell or High Water. Definitely more than Sicario.

The scenery, the score, the dialogue and the acting were all on point. Some of Jeremy Renner's best work. He's been spending so much time playing spy and superhero lately that I think people tend to forget that he was nominated for Hurt Locker and The Town. His performance here is even better.
143 out of 190 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"You are looking for clues, but you are missing all the signs"
Paul Allaer19 August 2017
"Wind River" (2017 release; 107 min.) brings the story of Wildlife Officer Cory Lambert. As the movie opens, reminding us "Inspired By Actual Events", we briefly see a woman running for her life in the snow. We then are introduced to Lambert, who is hunting down wolves. Lambert visits his ex, where he picks up his young son for the day. Lambert then visits the parents of his ex, as their life stock has been attacked, possibly by a lion. In the course of starting his investigation, Lambert finds the frozen body of the woman we saw running for her life. Because it looks like a possible homicide, an FBI agent is called. At this point we're 10 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this movie marks the second directing stint of highly praised writer (and erstwhile actor) Taylor Sheridan, whose previous two movies, 2015's "Sicario" and last year's "Hell or High Water", were among the top movie of the year for me. "Wind River" is for me one of the most anticipated movies of the year, period. With "Wind River", Sheridan goes in a very different direction again as compared to "Sicario" and "Hell or High Water", digging into a murder mystery, set in an Indian reservation in snow-covered Wyoming. Jeremy Renner brings perhaps his finest performance of his career as the Wildlife hunter/tracer Cory Lambert, who himself carries a heavy secret. Elizabeth Olsen is Jane Banner, the wide-eyed inexperienced FBI agent who is in way over her head but is determined to do what is right. "You are looking for clues but you are missing all the signs", remarks Lambert early on, and she begs him to help her. And there are plenty of potential suspects--it's not a coincidence that this is set in a community that has more than its share of crime and misery. Sheridan leads with confidence as the tension in the movie rarely lets up. Bottom line: this is another nice movie from Tayalor Sheridan, who in just a matter of a few years has become one of Hollywood most accomplished writer-directors. Can't wait for his next movie, "Soldado", a sequel to "Sicario", to be released next year.

"Wind River" opened this weekend at my local art house theater here in Cincinnati on not one, but two screens, a rarity. The Saturday matinée screening where I saw this at was attended very nicely for a matinée. I imagine that "Wind River" will benefit from the strong word-of-mouth that this will surely generate. If you are in the mood for a top-notch mystery drama with some stellar performances, you cannot go wrong with "Wind River" be it in the theater, on VOD or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray. "Wind River" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
88 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Renner's potrayal of a broken man who is keen on hunting any kinda predators, Sheridan's superb writing, the snowy landscape as another character makes this a must watch.
Fella_shibby17 December 2017
I saw this few days back on a Blu-ray. As an avid fan of Taylor Sheridan, was looking forward to this without watching the trailer. It is a very beautifully shot, well acted and distressing crime drama. The vast landscape becomes more than a vivid backdrop, it becomes a character in the film. Wind River is able to showcase Sheridans directing and storytelling strengths. From the dark border area (Sicario), to the scorching plains of Texas (Hell or ...) and to the frozen mountains in Wyoming in Wind river, the writer/director managed to make the landscape a character in the film. Jeremy Renner potrayed the role of a broken man who is keen on hunting the predators very well n he deserves an Oscar for his performance. The less said about the plot is better because one has to see this film rather than read about its plot. The film has a very strong social message. The films conclusion with the message was very horrifying n distressing.
42 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What a Start For Taylor Sheridan
Thomas Drufke19 August 2017
Crime dramas have always been one of my favorite genres of filmmaking, especially the ones that take themselves seriously and pose interesting questions about life. Wind River takes the genre up in the cold, snowy tundra of the Wind River Indian Reservation in Wyoming. Gritty, brutal, and well-timed action, Wind River builds a simply structured crime film into an important conversation about missing persons with a great storyteller and one great cast.

Coming from writing the likes of Sicario and Hell or High Water, Taylor Sheridan is really making a career for himself. It's hard to imagine it's the same guy who made those short acting cameos in Veronica Mars back in the day, but Sheridan is separating himself from the pack in terms of his writing skills. I won't say that Wind River reaches the heights that either of his other two writing efforts did, but the sheer power of the subject matter of this film may take this film into Oscar season.

Jeremy Renner stars as Corey Lambert, a man with a tragic past, teams with Jane Banner (an FBI agent played by Elizabeth Olsen) to solve a murder. It's easy to label Banner as the "out of place woman who needs the help of a hardened man", because it can appear that way at first glance. But I'll view it as two people who cross paths with each other and end up working together to better their current situations. It also doesn't hurt that both Renner and Olsen have pre- established chemistry from the Marvel films, and dynamite together on screen.

However, I do believe that Sheridan could have done a slightly better job of directing the tone of Wind River. There were times where it seemed the actors were giving endearing performances and monologues, only to be sometimes interrupted by a subtle joke or a lighthearted comment. I think that just a minor change in direction of his actors would have changed those moments for the better. With that said, Sheridan's brutal touch of action when the film calls for it is impressive to say the least. It's those moments that helps put a realistic layer to Wind River.

Overall, Wind River is a grounded but moving take on murder, rape, and missing persons cases. Solid performances, sharp script, and nuanced storytelling, Wind River is a fascinating crime drama.

8.0/10
70 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Please speak up
spencer-5219 December 2017
I liked the movie from all aspects except the dialogue which was often inaudible,. Olsen mumbles and breathes her lines in the standard contemporary actor trained closed mouth soft emotive method. I have very little idea what she said. I watched on iTunes and was constantly turning the volume up and down. In the end, it didn't matter about the dialogue. The plot and the scenery carried the film. Would someone please get these actors a speech coach?
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Taylor Sheridan depicts another dilapidated region of America
Jared_Andrews30 August 2017
If you've seen any of Taylor Sheridan's previous work, you probably noted that he has a certain style. He tells stories about ways of life in dilapidated regions of the country. He blurs the lines between "good guys" and "bad guys," instead framing the status of the selected region as the truest villain. What's right and wrong, considering all the unique variables of each story, is not always clear. At least, that was case in Sicario and Hell or High Water.

In Wind River, the region is still presented with all the strain that is causes on the lives of its residents, but a much more obvious villain is revealed before the movie is over.

Hell of High Water frames the crumbling economy of a certain Texas region as the real source of evil, rather than any characters. Whereas in Wind River the source of evil is definitely the rapist. I mean, the rapist attempts to blame the cold and silence, but his actions were clearly much worse than bad weather.

Sheridan's previous films also left doubt about who were the heroes, who the audience should be rooting for. This time it was much less ambiguous—they were the people searching for the rapist.

An emerging theme in Sheridan's movies appears to be Tarantinoesque eruptions of violence, sometimes near the conclusion. They don't always reach the levels of the Django Unchained shootout, but Sheridan clearly isn't shy about showcasing the unforgiving damage that can be inflicted by firearms.

Complaints, I have a few. On more than one occasion, I legitimately could not understand what a character had said, so I was left wondering if I missed something important. I'm not sure if this manner of speaking was a choice made by the actors or if this was a decision made by Sheridan to establish a certain tone. Either way, I could have used less mumbling.

The other complaint that I have, and this is more serious, the middle third of the movie felt like it contained a lot of empty moments. This may or may not have been related to the times that I couldn't understand what a character said. Still, the movie could have used a bit of its fat trimmed. It wasn't as crisp and clean as Hell or High Water and Sicario. And I know I keep comparing this movie to Sheridan's others, but that's bound to happen when a writer sets the bar so high with two gems.

On the whole, I consider this a success for Sheridan in his directorial debut. I'd happily watch another story of his about justice and an overlooked culture.
65 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Grim, slow-burn crime thriller marks Sheridan's directorial debut
PotassiumMan4 August 2017
Taylor Sheridan's achievement in this film lies in his success in crafting an old school crime drama that doesn't try to re-invent the wheel but instead relies on good old-fashioned storytelling. Jeremy Renner and Elizabeth Olsen are both exceptional as a dissimilar pair who out of sheer happenstance form an alliance to solve the mystery of a young woman's brutal death on an Indian reservation. Renner is a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service tracker. Olsen is an FBI agent sent on an assignment very much alone.

The narrative remains low-key but gradually builds toward its gripping conclusion. We come to learn quite a lot about Renner's character through his backstory. He's quite understated and effective in this role. Olsen enters the picture as an outsider to the bleak region of despair that the American wilderness is portrayed as here. She must learn quickly in order to do her job or leave a possible crime completely unsolved.

Because this film deals with life on an Indian reservation, much of the social and economic woes might seem unfamiliar at first, but the film does a good job of providing a snapshot of the hardship that pervades in this part of the country and the difficulty that law enforcement has in conducting even a workmanlike investigation. Sheridan depicts a world that is sympathetic and troubled at the same time, masking its tears with courage and doggedness. Recommended to everyone.
56 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Could have been good ...
PlasmaX_789 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie had a lot of good things going for it. Great, scenic location. A good cast. A decent story to start out with. But, it's like the editor or whoever screened the story had their head in the sand when it came to big events that happened in the movie and how the audience would react. I won't even get into the FBI agent / high Native American shooting scene which didn't make any sense.

Let's talk about the climax. A group of local police officers and an FBI agent head out to a drill site to look for the boyfriend of the victim. Shortly after arriving the security at the drill site attempts to flank the cops and one of the local cops notices this and calls them out on it. Guns end up being pointed and of course the heroine (FBI agent) has to step in and calm everyone down. As soon as they put their guns down she should have arrested them on the spot. Instead she chooses not to listen to the local cop and basically almost dismisses the security guards as a threat. Of course, the security guards kill everyone but her. Fast forward to the end of the ending of the movie ... Jeremy Renner gets his revenge but nothing is even mentioned of the local police and police chief that were savagely gunned down. Also, Renner convinces the FBI agent that she wasn't just lucky to have survived. What he should have said was that she was an idiot and got the rest of her colleagues killed by not recognizing an obvious danger.

Left a bad taste in my mouth.
39 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Starts slow, gets better, hard to understand dialogue at times
bill126589 March 2018
I was thinking I made a mistake with this movie, the beginning is a snoozer and has little to do with the rest of the movie. After that the pace and interest picks up. This isn't an action flick, its a well written emotional easy to follow story. One major problem, the dialogue is often soft and mumbling. You really have to listen close and be prepared to rewind often. My wife and I were constantly asking each other, what did he say? One demerit for that. One other item that makes for more exciting scenes is they way a rifle shot will throw the bad guy across the room like a mule kick. It doesn't work that way, I would prefer accuracy. This isn't a feel good movie. The acting is excellent and its well made, but this movie is depressing. The setting is depressing. The characters past is depressing. The story line is depressing. Not a first date movie.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I'm left wanting more and wondering if I watched the same movie as other reviewers.
sassy-1461328 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
i completely disagree that this movie should be categorized as a thriller or mystery. The story has a predictable outcome that I could see coming from the beginning. The writer did nothing to try and even lead us in a different direction. In the first ten minutes the vicitims family leads us to a boyfriend no ones ever met. Obviously they're going to try and find him, once they do we're hand delivered the entire story. There was no work for the audience to do and zero surprise. I kind of like being lead down a few different paths that can be misleading before letting us know what really happened and who the killer is. I found the characters to be predictable from The tracker/hunter male that's good at everything And always figures it out before the young female law enforcement character that's in over her head. Throw in the local cop that's a bit slow and blasé about his job. It's been done a 100 + times and I think it's been done better. I'm actually starting to wonder whose reviewing movies. I'm sorry but 8/10 on IMDb when there's many many more movies that score 6/10 that have better story, writing and acting. Was this movie awful? No. It's not a terrible movie but it's definitely just average.
56 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Watch this film...
Richard Davis13 November 2017
There aren't many films that I'd specifically recommend to watch, but this is one of them.

I didn't know anything about when I went to watch it. I'm glad I didn't. It came as a fantastic surprise.

It's bleak and eerie. It has a little "Insomnia" mixed in with some "Jodie Foster/Clarice Starling" thrown into the mix. It's a little dark, suspenseful and interesting right through the reveal at the end.

The story, whilst nothing shocking in of itself, is realistic and believable. The reveal towards the end is satisfyingly on the money, and it tugs at the emotional strings to see very believable and well acted grief on the part of the family that suffered the loss. The acting was excellent and carried the drama very well. More crime thrillers should deliver like this did.

Just watch it - you'll be glad you did.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Grim, generic thriller
rrpjr21 August 2017
Atmospheric, capable thriller but feels shopworn and its production marred by TV-style shot selection and editing. Story of Indian reservation killing is chock-a-block with grim and squalid images we've seen in other stories with same old Hollywood virtue-signaling about awful white man's depredations. Two leads are adequate but nothing remarkable in the writing to lift or distinguish their characters. We've seen it before. Hunter/tracker Renner offers awkward exposition speech about his family tragedy (we know its coming, and it does not come seamlessly for the story). Scenes of brutality are fairly predictable, and so are the antagonists. For great take on murder on Indian reservation story check out Thunderheart.
53 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Dances with the Wind
Tweetienator29 September 2017
Jeremy Renner is cool as f***, but that's nothing new. Wind River got good acting and fantastic pictures of raw nature but what it lacks is imo a suspenseful and captivating story, so I wouldn't call Wind River a thriller or a crime/detective story but more kind of drama about loss and being lost spiced up with some hunting and shooting.

Not bad, not exceptional, but okay, thanks to the good acting and the great supporting act called nature.
26 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"She ran six miles barefoot in the snow and died of frozen burst lungs ..."
alexdeleonfilm30 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A female FBI agent teams with a veteran game tracker to investigate a bizarre murder on a remote Indian reservation. Director Taylor Sheridan. Stars Jeremy Renner and Elizabeth Olsen as the FBI agent. Viewed at Cannes, 2017, where it won the Best director award in the Un Certain Regard sector.

Rape and murder on the reservation with Jeremy Renner really coming into his own as a not particularly handsome leading man. Very strong as the predator hunter with high powered rifle on high speed snowmobile. The picture opens with a long sequence of a woman running barefoot across a vast nighttime snowscape until she finally drops dead. Eventually we will find out that she was brutally gang raped and was fleeing for her life. Reservation great white hunter, Renner, starts an informal investigation on his own. An FBI agent, (Olsen) is called in to assist with the investigation. A junior woman agent is all the FBI cares to spare for this case, obviously regarded as unimportant because who. cares about Indians! But, since only the FBI has police authority on Indian reservation territory they have to make at least a token contribution to the investigation

At the end of this snowy subzero nail biter, Renner having tracked down the main rapist subjects the now wounded and fleeing central SOB to a most satisfying form of vigilante justice -- making him crawl on his belly bloodied and barefoot in the snow to a hideous painfully slow death -- the same kind of death the multiple rape victim at the beginning had to endure. The fetching female FBI agent called in on the case (Elizabeth Olsen) provides a slightly romantic angle to an otherwise edgy all male Indian reservation thriller. Beautiful snowy mountain photography throughout is more than noteworthy. Overall one of the best films of the Cannes week.

Kudos to director Taylor Sheridan and all others involved in this remarkable outdoor production. This Weinstein brothers prod was filmed in Utah although the setting is supposedly Wyoming on the Wind River Reservation. An added reality perk, real Indians, not Hollywood palefaces, portray the Native American characters. And do it so well!

The Wind River Indian Reservation is an Indian reservation for the Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho tribes of Native Americans in the central western portion of the U.S. state of Wyoming. The entrance to the Wind River Reservation is the small town of Lander, Wyo. which is actually seen in one brief scene, but the magnificent mountain snowscapes we see are all in Utah. Geographical poetic license. Highly recommended off-beat scenic thriller with highly satisfying retribution at the end.
27 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Why does every line of dialogue need to be a social commentary?
Reznik_T5 November 2017
Sure, this movie has some stuff going for it. The scenery is beautiful, cinematography is fine, Jeremy Renner is a likable guy, Elizabeth Olsen is pretty, and the local cop/sheriff (played by Graham Greene) is a believable character who acts like an actual human being. Too bad he's the only one. Wind River - even more so than Hell or High Water (written by the same guy) - is filled with dialogue where people talk in metaphors, where there's always a deeper meaning to what they say, in other words, it doesn't sound like normal, everyday people talking to each other. If they only did that in certain key moments, it would be fine, it could work if that's what the story demands. But when that's all you hear throughout the whole film, it becomes pretentious and irritating.

Also, I'm tired of the notion that certain movies feel the need to hit you over the head with their social commentary. When the young female FBI agent arrives, everybody is surprised, obviously because they don't think a woman is fit for the job (aka sexism). When they arrive at the home of the native American family, the father asks the FBI agent: "Why is it that whenever you people want to help us, you always insult us first?" (Because that's what white people always do, I guess.) When the Indian boy, who sells drugs, gets caught and confronted by Jeremy Renner, the conversation is about him fighting against the whole world, and how Jeremy Renner shouldn't say "we", because the only native American thing about him is his wife. And if that's not enough lecturing for you, then wait for Elizabeth Olsen thanking Jeremy Renner for saving her life, and Renner replying by saying, "you're a tough woman, you saved your own life". Obviously the problem is not the idea of "strong women", but the fact that instead of making it a natural part of the story and the characters, the director decides to shove it down our throats through such clumsy, heavy- handed dialogue.

There's a shoot-out scene towards the end of the movie, that I thought, was written and executed pretty poorly. First of all, at one point I couldn't even tell who's on whose side, and who gets shot by who. It felt like they tried to recreate the amazing border shoot-out scene from Sicario (also written by the same guy), only this time in the snow. The problem is that we don't know anything about most of the people who are in this scene, as they were just introduced two minutes earlier, but all of a sudden we're supposed care whether they live or die.

Anyway, if you're a huge Jeremy Renner or Elizabeth Olsen fan, you might as well go and check it out, but be prepared, it's not a very good one.
44 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Winding dribble
shea76525 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Writers don't necessarily make directors, which is never more obvious than this film. Sheridan produced a competent if ultimately unsatisfying script for Sicario, which led me to Wind River. But he's a fish out of water here at the helm of a novice effort that achieves little visually but to capture a few stills of the majestic Wyoming snow-scape.

Poor casting choices are mitigated by Jeremy Renner's strong performance. Without his brooding backwoods character, along with Graham Greene as the token "real" Native American, the film would look like an episode of "Survivor" - a bunch of urbanites dropped into difficult country without a clue how to act. The movie doubles down on this casting strategy by choosing Elizabeth Olsen as the dumbfounded out-of-towner FBI agent (female, or course), whose emotions are meant to enhance the audience's own wonderment at this Wild West wilderness. Never mind that hardly any of the other characters in the film belong any more than Olsen or the audience.

Sheridan wraps his movie in the cloak of advocacy for Native Americans. Yet, he simultaneously blames his Native American characters for most of their plight - the drug epidemic is the result of individual choice, the young men could have joined the army or gone to college, and so on. At a time when the American dialogue is more than ever trained on social vs. individual responsibility, Sheridan could have explored these issues in more depth if advocacy was really a goal.

As for plot continuity, Sheridan's script produces and drops characters and story lines like so many snow flakes melting on impact: Cory's wife and son are forgotten after the opening act, and the action barely stops to acknowledge the sheriff's demise. The cause of Natalie's death, which the coroner stubbornly refuses to acknowledge as a homicide and is supposedly problematic for the FBI's investigative jurisdiction, thereafter never impacts the FBI's actual investigation. Cory's tracking ability, which serves law-enforcement as a potent investigative tactic in the first half of the film, is disregarded in favor of rather drawn-out and questionable violent scenes to conclude the movie. If this wasn't an "indie" film (whatever that means these days), I would suppose the studio heads demanded a rewrite to include typical Hollywood bloodshed.

The only reason to watch "Wind River" is if you're a big fan of Jeremy Renner, who delivers a characteristically good performance. Without his dominating presence, you'd basically be watching a "B" movie.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Unremarkable film with dreadful audio
cjct-5144410 September 2017
I'm at a loss to see why this film has been well reviewed.

It has a so-so plot, characters who aren't particularly engaging, far too many snowmobile scenes (did the director really think we'd never seen one before?) and above all it has a dialogue soundtrack that is unintelligible in too many places.

Cowboys and native Americans alike mumble or whisper far too much, sometimes hardly moving their lips - so there's little visual help from there. I think I decoded not much more than 50% of the dialogue.

Avoid it unless you can see it with subtitles. Even then, it's really nothing special at all.
60 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Did not like this movie at all - slow, predictable, and unlikely
GideonPope7 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
3 is as generous as I can get on this review.

I think most people, like me, wanted to like this movie because it involves A) violence against women, and B) a depiction of Native American hardship. By liking the movie, you indirectly show your support for the causes, as it were.

The movie was just not good. It started well enough, and I was not dissuaded by the slow pace.

Wheels fell off when - SPOILERS AFTER HERE - Jane shoots the young man in the trailer. Totally unnecessary scene, and totally unrealistic. Ask yourself this - what are the odds that a cop investigating a murder ends up in a trailer with a guy who has done nothing wrong, but yet opens fire on the cop and ends up getting shot? How about close to zero? So now with the wheels off a fire breaks out to burn the remaining structure down when there is a Mexican stand off (no slight intended - I don't believe that's pejorative) among 10 different people - Jane, the Tribal cop, two Star-Trek-Orange-Suit guys they bring along, and 5 or 6 of the drilling crew guys, all of whom are armed to the teeth. Everybody's got a gun drawn, and everybody's yelling to calm down and back off. Finally, Jane, in a terrible alpha dog voice, claims rank with her FBI status and tells everybody to put weapons away. But then a guy with what appears to be an auto open fire from inside where the guy who actually raped the girl is, and all hell breaks loose, with bullets flying everywhere, Star-Trek guys and Tribal cop get killed, but Jane survives, aided by Hurt Locker/Hawkeye, who then exacts your desired blood lust revenge by making bad guy run in snow until he dies, which ends up being a hundred feet and well short of the dead girl's six mile run in the snow, which, I think, is supposed to show us how tough she was? Ug. Awful, awful stuff. Had a chance to be very good, then made the critical mistake of going to what they probably believed were tried-and-true tropes, which did not fit the story at all.

Also, a bunch of guys beating their friend to death because he wouldn't let them molest his girl seems very far fetched.

Just not good.

EDITED TO ADD - sound track may have been the worst sound track I've every experienced as a movie goer. Did not fit the scenes. Awful.
72 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the Best Movies Playing Right Now in Theaters!!!
adonis98-743-1865036 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
An FBI agent teams with a town's veteran game tracker to investigate a murder that occurred on a Native American reservation. Wind River was one of those films that i did not expect to actually go and see in Theaters but i'm so glad that i did this is a small budget indie movie and something very much different than Jeremy Renner and Elizabeth Olsen usually do especially since they both star in 'Avengers'. This is more of a character study drama than your regular action film and it packs some great heavy performances especially from the 2 main leads in fact Renner delivers his lines with a terrific way, his role isn't just dramatic but he can pull some actual punches of his own both as an actor and as a character, Olsen is kind of the rookie type of character but she is not weak or a character that is annoying in a sense of way she can actually pull off the acting chops just as good as Renner and both of them should get nominated for something until the end of the year, Gil Birmingham and Graham Greene also gave 2 terrific performances as well and you do get some great moments from the Native American Culture. Like i said this is more of a character study drama about fathers and daughters and how a parent learns how to overcome or basically try to understand that his child won't come back also there are some great suspenseful scenes and some really great action sequences that will totally blow you away, the direction that the movie takes is very good and it's full of great shots left and right plus there's an unexpected cameo from a fan favorite actor and the whole 'who did it' scenario is clever even tho we have seen it many times before. Overall this is a great movie and i would totally recommend you to go and see it in Theaters but just know what to expect this isn't Avengers 3 it's a film about an awful tragedy and a bunch of brave people who wanna know what the hell happened. (A+)
24 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Unoriginal Movie that becomes so silly it would make Rambo III cringe.
nlytnd_110 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The way the movie begins it tricks us into thinking that it has a creative logical solution to it's premise, however as the movie unfolds we realize that we've been bamboozled. It's as if they had the premise for the movie, then they handed the baton to Tommy Wiseau to finish writing the script.There are so many amateurish aspects to this movie I couldn't begin to bullet point them all, but here are just a few honorable mentions. When the movie reveals to us what led to the victims demise, it's such a silly circumstance. Whoever wrote it was very uncreative and out of touch in the realm of human observation. And did you know that in ? degree temperatures you can have a prolonged conversation, but if you begin to run in it, after 100 or so feet your lungs will explode? Now I'm willing to suspend my disbelief and pretend that it's much colder than it obviously was.... but it wasn't cold enough for Corey to ride his snowmobile with his face and hands covered, but if you run in it, you better watch out. And my money would have easily been on the guy running 6 miles in the snow to safety. I guess I've seen one too many episodes of I shouldn't be alive. People achieve that with broken arms/legs and feet. I can't believe something so nonsensical made it past the cutting room floor. Shows how little respect the writer/director has for their audience. And I just love the scene where nearly everyone was just shot dead and Corey finds the FBI chick under the house and smiles at her and asks if she's ok, as if he came from another set where a bunch of people hadn't just been shot to death (some of whom were his friends). Maybe he's a sociopath? Anyways it seemed really out of place. Now I picked up on many of the symbolism's throughout and if it actually had a believable/decent storyline I would have cared enough to piece together the rest... When you have such a weak storyline, symbolism's serve no purpose because they go right out the window.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed