Christopher Robin (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
391 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Bring a handkerchief
jhechotek5 August 2018
I am a 56-yr old married white male and I went to see this film with my wife on a Saturday afternoon. I was blown away by the acting, the CGI, the storyline as well as the "life-lessons". The cinematography is superb with sweeping panoramas (vistas), gorgeous colors combined with stunning CGI.

Ewan McGregor gives an exceptional & very believable performance, and the newcomer Bronte Carmichael as Christopher Robin's daughter-Madeline.

This film is very family friendly: no violence, no profanity, no sex.

I can recommend this film to any/all fans of A.A. Milne's stories
200 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie
ijacobs318 August 2018
As a nearing 40 dad, who works endless hours to make ends meet and make sure my family has the best of everythijg I can give them, taking my daughter met to watch this movie, not only had me in tears by the end, it made me think hard about what / where I'm heading in life, and what I'm missing out on in family time

This movie was amazing! Fantastic CGI and a story line that not only tugs on the heart strings , it kicks you so hard in the feelings , that you actually wake up and think about what happened to you
105 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring TWO Handkerchiefs!
ludgateman-8762222 August 2018
I'm a 53 y old married man, and I saw this film on Monday with my wife. I went back to see it AGAIN on Tuesday, I loved it so much. Also, I teared up so badly on the first viewing, I needed a second fix to catch the parts I missed! Beautifully filmed, this is a must see for any adult still in touch with their inner "Christopher Robin". The scenes of Ewan McGregor sitting with Pooh on a log overlooking Ashdown Forest will stay with me forever (and I need a hankie now, just thinking about it!)

10/10 is not enough!
23 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
- So much love in this film, with themes of friendship, love, family and tenderness
rannynm1 August 2018
What day is it? Why it is today, my favorite day. I am a life-long Disney fan. While it is not surprising I loved seeing the characters from the Hundred Acre Wood come to life via CGI transformation, I was surprised to see A.A. Milne's beloved characters in their original book form, not their Disney animation form.

Christopher Robin does not spend a lot of time introducing the viewer to the characters from the idyllic forest where a young British boy spent time creating adventures with his friends - Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Piglet, Eeyore, Rabbit, Owl, Kanga and Roo. If one is not a Disney-phile, it may be hard to comprehend why a boy arrives from a tree to have picnics with animals.

That said, the Winnie the Pooh, Disney lover that I am, saw so much love in this film with its themes of friendship, love, family and tenderness. The vintage, live-action look is appealing and kept me intrigued wondering what the "silly old bear" would do next. Winne the Pooh is quite the adventurous wanderer as he goes in search of Christopher Robin who has grown up and works in London. The adventures suspend belief as grown-up Christopher Robin, well played by Ewan McGregor, originally annoyed by Pooh, remembers some of his favorite things, like "doing nothing" and realizing true north is his family and friends, plush or live.

As a grown man who has returned from World War II, married to Evelyn (Hayley Atwell) and father of a daughter, Christopher Robin is an efficiency manager for a luggage company or "a fish in the sea" as Winnie the Pooh says. He is a work-a-holic and has a taskmaster as a thankless boss. When told he must work rather than go on holiday to the country with his family, Christopher Robin attempts to take Pooh back to the forest where he and his woodsy friends awaken the lost child from within. They also meet his daughter Madeleine (Bronte Carmichael) and another adventure ensues. Madeline assists Pooh in getting to Christopher Robin when he needs all of them most.

For a franchise, which has historically targeted the very young, the film has melancholy themes. Visually, it is beautiful with its artistic production values and cinematography. The score is also very good. I give this film 4.5 out of 5 stars for the casting, cinematography, life lessons, amazing cult Winnie the Pooh references and music. I recommend it to ages 8 to 18, due to some mature themes. Reviewed by Kimbirly O., KIDS FIRST! Adult Juror.
112 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It was great to relive my childhood...
kimiemegan22 August 2018
This was the first movie in ages where they did not focus on a romantic relationship but rather exploring relationships between friendship and family. Though, I do believe that the movie isn't suiting for very young viewers. As it might seem boring to them or rather the message conveyed isn't about them. Christopher Robin forgets about being happy due to his workaholic nature, this could really relate more to high school, college or working people. But, overall it's a great movie! It's great for laughs, reminiscing and a little tears
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Forget the Critics
iguy-922073 August 2018
See this movie with your kids for what it is, a charming escape from from reality for a little while. Don't over think the plot and characters like the critics are trying to do. Just get some popcorn and relax.

Oh, and the animation is excellant.
92 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't Listen To The Critics
eefseaff3 August 2018
I'm usually in accord with critic reviews, but I honestly do not understand the low ratings this movie is getting. Christopher Robin (2018) is gorgeously filmed, beautifully acted, and emotional without being overtly sappy. In my opinion, this is one of the most enjoyable films of the year, and I am sure that audiences will find its odd blend of gloom and whimsy to be delightful. 9/10
85 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb..!!
sharad-seth12 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I have been reading reviews on IMDB for many years now... but never ever was I tempted to write one - till now. And I created my IMDB login just for this. What an amazing movie this was. Deepest life lessons explained through a very simple yet profound, a very well-known yet new-found character in the shape of Winnie. Everyone acted very well, including the young Madeline. But Winnie the Pooh just steals the show. And rightfully so. Go watch it to remember your earlier self. Or your present self. Maybe both. "What day is it, Christopher Robin?", asks Pooh. "It's today", he replied. "Well it's my favourite day...", Pooh concludes.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Super sweet
ellieonlife25 August 2018
Wonderful movie with gorgeous cinematography perfect for children and adults alike. Sweet as honey and will tug at your heartstrings in an unexpected way. You may shed a tear or 2
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truly Great
muvbuff-4573717 August 2018
Christopher Robin is a truly great and heartwarming film about the importance of family and friends on one's life. Not only written incredibly well and acted perfectly, the film has a lot of realism to it, even with talking stuffed animals as part of the cast. Blending very real everyday hardships with fantasy gives the film a contrasting look at how bleak the world is when we don't realize what is truly important and tells us to remember our childhoods and try to be a better parent by being a kid with your kids. Overall, the film displays a heartfelt message with a cast of fun characters from an iconic series and does so very well and I suggest you go out and see this movie.
39 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See
megancremins3 August 2018
I was in tears for the duration of the movie. If you're a fan of pooh, you'll love this movie. Some original songs were brought back which made the movie unforgetable.
62 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nostalgia
ThomasDrufke22 August 2018
Christopher Robin got next to zero marketing and had little buzz surrounding its release. It's almost as if Disney wanted to put their efforts elsewhere because they weren't sure on who to market the film to. Well, to their credit, that's exactly how the movie felt to me. A mixture of adult themes with characters acting to cater towards children is a difficult line to market to. Especially since it's almost impossible to define who the actual target audience would be, even after I've seen it. Even with that said, I really adored this film. Full of nostalgia from familiar voices to just the satisfying feeling of watching a old fashioned Disney story unfold in live action form. Winnie the Pooh is an all-time great character in the Disney lore and he is beyond perfect in this film, with Jim Cummings returning to do voiceover once again. Does it take a little bit to get going? Sure, but it finishes with dazzle. The magic of Christopher Robin and the Hundred Acre Wood is absolutely back.

7.8/10
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!
lozanoderrick22 August 2018
Disney turned out another good one this time. The animation of Pooh and Friends was way better on the screen then what I expected from the promo photos. Although the movie does tend pace of the slower side of things, Winnie and Christopher's interaction was charming and enjoyable to watch. Winnie the Pooh's character was simple, humorous, and logical. He could see right through Christopher's poor attitude as to how he chooses to live his life. However, I felt that this movie may have been tough for young children to understand in it that Winnie the Pooh did dole out soundly advice for Christopher to not be so caught up in his work and forget about having fun and spending time with his family. The parallels of Christopher transforming into that of a young boy as Pooh had seen him, was definitely something that young kids could not extract from the movie. Besides this, the movie was a great family movie that had a great evolving plot and some nostalgic short scenes that had a nod to the Disney cartoon classics in the '90's.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Terrific reimagining of the Wonder of Pooh
ronterry558 August 2018
As an admirer of Ewan McGregor, and a big fan of Winnie-the-Pooh; I was very excited to see this movie. I found it an enchanting story of a grown up Christopher Robin dealing with life issues in mid- 20th century England. He has a wife and child who he !oves, but mostly ignores due to his work. He has forgotten his childhood and special friends until Pooh comes to London needing help locating his missing friends. They go back to the hundred acre wood to look for Pooh's missing friends. Once found, his friends from the hundred acre wood help him remember how to be happy, and what is really important in life. That story isn't new, but it is brought to wonderful new life by terrific acting by Mr. McGregor, Haley Atwell, and Bronte Carmichael. The CGI animation of Pooh, Piglet, Eeyore, Tigger, and the rest of the gang is a delight. They are lovingly brought to life by the talents of Jim Cummings, Brad Garrett, Nick Mohammed, and others. The scenes where they cut to the original drawings are just wonderful. Highly recommend this film for children and adults....and anyone who loves Winnie-the-Pooh.
30 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not The Movie You'd Expect: Better!
spiritof6714 August 2018
I usually don't read other reviews of films I review. After all, I have 60+ years of heavy moviegoing as my resource..but tastes do vary. In this case, I understand that if you're needing jumpcuts, cookie-cutter plots, easy places to text or other things, this isn't your movie. As well, if you missed the memo about how this WASN'T a sequel to any other movie, this isn't your movie either.

It is, though, one of the finest movies I have ever seen of any genre, and one of the most emotionally moving. For this reason I would note for parents that your parenting skills will be tested here; if your kids have no attention span, are fidgety, have iphone addiction, they won't like this movie. But it most assuredly is a movie for all ages, just not for all mentalities. There are actual lessons here for children, real ones; lessons for adults, important ones; lessons for employers; and most of all, lessons to the viewer.

I would recommend that those interested see this movie quickly, since L. Ron Hubbard's man's success in the opening week has cut this film's run short. To not see the magnificent cinematography and vistas (some CGI but you cannot tell) in their proper setting. It emphatically is not a TV or Smartphone movie.

On to the posse: Tigger, Kanga and Roo, Owl, Eeyore, Rabbit, Piglet and Pooh all get good screen time, have excellent character showings and are wonderfully voiced. As long as you bear in mind (no pun) the real characters' personalities, which are all on display here, they all ring true. Ewan McGregor gives what might be his career performance, and newcomer Bronte Carmichael is radiant, as is Hayley Atwell. But this is Ewan, Bronte and Pooh's movie, and they do it justice. Just a wonderful film. Sorry if it's "too slow" for some tastes.
21 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If you ever were a kid it's quite enjoyable
mariob-4730720 August 2018
Being a 32 year old Male with no kids I went out of my way to go see this movie and let me tell you it didn't disappoint as voices and characters go Ewan McGregor did a great job Jim Cummings as himself in many different roles was amazing and the story itself was great. To be honest I think the story is literally just trying to tell you it's all about how you look at things in perspective and priorities and for that matter it really hit home it made me feel good it was funny sad and just overall enjoyable and I really could feel the struggle between the life of trying to live in this Rat Race compared to what should be important in this world. Acting was first class between everybody in the movie Winnie the Pooh delivered last left and right and you know what I would gladly go see this movie again Christopher Robin Orleans a very heartfelt huge clap in my eyes if you have any good memories of being a child and using your imagination or ever watching any of the Winnie the Pooh cartoons you would enjoy this movie
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A mixed bag with incredibly charming remedies
soulsk8ter2251 August 2018
**WARNING: I get a little bit into what some of the characters do and don't do, even though I don't really get much into the overall story.**

Disney's Christopher Robin serves as a companion piece to Goodbye Christopher Robin in that they play different parts of CR's life. Goodbye Christopher Robin takes place during his childhood and has small parts of him growing to a young adult by the end, and Disney's Christopher Robin spends the first ten minutes advancing through his raising years rather quickly so we can get to his adulthood. Outside of the source material, the comparisons of the two films stop there. Disney's Christopher Robin is much more family-oriented fiction, whereas Goodbye Christopher Robin is slightly more adult-themed nonfiction. I'll say that at my age, as much as I loved both films at their cores, I did prefer one over the other.

Now, let's address "the Heffalump in the room" here: This film will receive nearly unanimous praise and everyone who reads this will adore by what they just saw on screen by the time the last page reads "THE END." You will see the 9's and 10's pour aplenty on here, and they will be absolutely justified to the point that I won't disagree with a single thing that they say, truly. I am no different, as while watching this I tapped into early childhood memories of me watching the Winnie the Pooh cartoon. All of the feels were there and they were strong. Parents and children had a joyous experience with the entire film, and my face may even hurt from smiling too much. I will mostly let every other review speak on that, though. I want to try and touch on the moments that others may have trouble expressing or just won't bother to, and explain away how my score (for better or worse) is emphasized by other elements of the film that may or may not have personally worked for me as well.

When I say the words "mixed bag" I'm not referring to the quality of what was on screen, just how my head coped with what was on screen. Every issue I have with the film is mostly not a film issue at all, but rather it is my conflicted mind wondering what kind of film I expected to watch. Having just come off of Goodbye Christopher Robin not one year ago, I was trying to decide whether I was watching yet another biopic of sorts here, or if this was just a fictional fantasy adventure. When it initially seemed like it wanted to be the former, eventually it revealed that it was going to be the latter, and boy they went the whole nine yards with that. Upon first glimpse CR is just letting his imagination run wild with him, but alas it turned out that these stuffed animals are not inanimate, but actually alive and talking. Yes, beneath the surface one can decide to create allegories for the animals' lively spirits representing something larger than they actually were, but in the last half hour of the film it feels like a very shallow version of: "Nope, they're real... accept it and move on." The tone shifted sort of fast without warning into something a bit childish, and not in the absolute best way. It kind of hit a wall with me, because initially they were going so well with what just felt like the imagination route, and I feel I would have preferred that much more. Then again, when I was a child I think I saw the animals more as actual animals and not stuffed objects in CR's imagination, so if I'm a kid watching this film I don't think this is a demerit in any way at all. Sadly, I'm now a thirty-year-old man critiquing a lovable children's film to the bitter end, possibly undeservedly so.

Which leads me to my next personal predicament: I didn't know which lens I was supposed to view this film from. I hate to make the immediate comparison, but Goodbye Christopher Robin strictly stuck to one tone and allowed me to find perspective as an audience member for where I belonged watching it. This film begins with a young CR and the playful animals expressing their personalities to the fullest, so I began watching it as the cartoon and all was fitting. Then a bit of time goes by without the animals to set up CR's current status in the workplace, with his family, and even with a neighbor (whose tiny intermittent "subplot" feels strangely incomplete, unless there was an after-credits scene). During this early stage I figuratively heard children shuffling in their seats, and I literally heard a young girl ask: "Where's Pooh Bear?" Given the expectation the trailers appeared to provide (which I avoided before seeing the film), you'd understand why the youthful ADHD crowd can get a bit restless with the slow pacing of these moments.

Then later Pooh appears and all is righted again, but I sit and wonder where kids are with this bear and his furry friends, because I legitimately do not know. Do they know him in name only but have not read the books or watched the old cartoons? Are they familiar with the animals' voices, quotable lines and unique mannerisms? It's not exactly an ongoing marketed icon anymore, and they might be too busy in front of their Smartphones anyway to know why we who grew up with them find every moment so wondrous. So again, here is where I'm completely out of the know: if children are not as well-versed with the characters at large, I wonder if they'll get as much out of this film as I would if I was there age, or as I did now. Don't be too alarmed, though! There are still plenty of moments to make this movie enjoyable for all ages, whether or not you are privy to all that which is Winnie the Pooh.

Oh yes, Pooh Bear: he was perfection. It's clear that the screenwriters know him very well as to make sure that every piece of dialogue that he says has this poetry about it, accompanied justly with Jim Cummings' original voice work. Every third line that he says will give you a chuckle, whether he is wittily responding to CR or talking to himself. We get a "Think think think" and more than enough honey references (which you can never have enough of). His humor is very deadpan and it works best when you see his innocent beady eyes conveying those words with that little mouth. I'll admit that I miss the cartoon design, but they took enough creative liberties to blend the real stuffed animal with the cartoon version and you get the best of both versions. He is both dependent and dependable, both nescient and thought-provoking, both wanting to make you laugh and cry. I cried exactly two times in this film, and both had to do with a Pooh spoken line or spoken action. They needed to capture this for the film to work, and they did it ever so well.

Eeyore and Tigger were also both real hits and exact representations of their cartoon selves. I would say that Eeyore will win over more with the adults when it comes to his dark and depressing lines (again, this is also one of those times where "if you understand the characters already it works much better"). Tigger gets to bounce, sing and laugh, all with original J.C. voice work and that really means something to me. The misses to me came with Piglet and Rabbit, which although it's unfortunate that their original voice actors have passed away they did not do enough to get close to those voices either. Rabbit always reminded me of a Squidward in the cartoon (I know that SpongeBob came afterward), but had no such notions here... just a couple of "I'm healthy and like things clean" kinds of lines. He also wasn't heavily featured, alongside Owl, Kanga and Roo. Piglet was mostly fine, but was missing the voice, never let out an "Ooooh, d-d-d-d-dear," and never really let his fearfulness become an affecting part of the story. Good thing Pooh made up for most of it, and honestly I could have completely done without the other characters and would have been just fine... yet at the same time Tigger and Eeyore's direct inclusions were too good to pass up.

Ewan McGregor was convincing and looked like he had a great time with the role. Hayley Atwell kind of got to sleepwalk through her mother/wife role as she didn't have much to do, the daughter was good but was in the wrong film for focus on her end (even though they try and maintain that theme throughout, it's not explored very fully), and literally every other character was over-the-top and may have fit with this film but were also outlandish and exaggerated to the point that I really didn't care. As I was saying before, keep this as CR and Pooh having adventures and I would be none the wiser as to the rest of it.

I hope that you can take my review as just very level-headed. There were just a few too many things I found to either be inconsistent, or at the very least made me perceive it as such. That might be more a fault of mine than a fault of the film's, but that's why I get my own vote on here and others will get theirs. My last minor quip was slightly mentioned before, but the overall pacing was pretty slow. I was okay with that, but I am trying to speak for the masses. I think Goodbye Christopher Robin was a film that was lighter on its feet regarding the pace, but it also is a little less kid-friendly since its focus is not on the animals (and never gives life to them, imaginable or otherwise).

Despite the things I've pointed out, I think you can chalk them up as personal issues only, and I can't recommend this film enough. I mean it's Winnie the Pooh, for heaven's sake... of course it will be lovable! My audience applauded at the end, and I did right alongside them. It has something for everybody, and plenty of it. It almost seems sinful to dismiss this film in any sort of way, and don't let my score be an indication of how much I actually did love moments of this film and urge everyone to go check out and see, specifically if you have children, a connection with the characters, or simply if you have a soul. Yet if you missed out on Goodbye Christopher Robin, I also recommend that you see it at some point for something that is probably less fictionalized and slightly more adult-oriented.
66 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It "travelled" me all the way...
alexis_kaloupis18 August 2018
This movie left me such a nice feeling that I couldn't just let it pass without a comment/review and hope to encourage other people to go and watch it...

Very shortly with no spoilers. Very sweet and sensitive movie, that travels you in the unique way that only Disney can... awakens your childhood memories and brings them back in a nostalgic way... passes great messages around what are the real important things in life... EXCELLENT!!! Highly recommended!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Nice Movie
ernestovaldezr-1163413 August 2018
I did like this movie, I thought it would be boring but it is surprisingly funny for any age, I would recommended...
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All the best bits, highlights from trailers do NOT oversell
mattfinish-323-91573322 August 2018
Nothing but admiration for the actors, animatronics, and AAMilne's stories.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Adaptation of Pooh Bear Characters Tale
DKosty12322 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
There are a lot of things that could have been done wrong with this tale. There could have been an effort to put a lot of tasteless humor in it. It could have tried too hard to be dramatic. Disney could have gotten too much production and special effect into it. That was not done, this is a charmingly told tale.

They got the fine direction from the director of the classic "Finding Neverland" and the film benefits from his direction. They put together a writing team that left the heart of all the Pooh Characters in the story. Then they got Ewan MacGregor to play the adult Robin as well as any actor could.

Robin leaves the 100 acre woods and grows up. As he grows up, he seems to have put his work ahead of his family and his childhood friends. This tenderly done tale tells of how he gets reminded of where he came from and why he should get his priorities straight. This is a great movie for the kids to get introduced to these charaxters, or for us adults to get reminded of how magical the Poo was to us as youngsters. We can all enjoy a new classic Disney film.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a very inspiring movie
arabbigwet22 August 2018
A movie that feels a bit underwhelming, but it made a 200 lbs big guy cried in the theater. a movie reminds you of your passion, your friendship, and your family. a movie that didn't waste time, a 90 mins movie that makes you feel like you only sat there for 40 mins.

a movie that might makes young zoomers laught, but makes 30 year old boomers cries.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pooh or Poo? Does Christopher Robin accomplish its goal?
rgkarim3 August 2018
Being a kid of the 90s, you got exposed to a lot of generational cartoons. From a young age I got exposed to the classic Winnie the Pooh cartoons with the memorable moments of pooh stuck in the hole, or on the balloon. Shortly thereafter the new adventures strapped in and brought new life to the series that was even more endearing tone before dropping further into kids territory. Then, Pooh and the crew kind of phased out, with only those less than 5 really caring about what they could offer, thus they faded from memory. Now, Disney is trying to recapture the magic of A.A. Milne's in a live action version of the stuffed animals journey through the eyes of the owner. Robbie K here with another review, this time on:

Movie: Christopher Robin (2018)

Director: Marc Forster Writers: Alex Ross Perry (screenplay by), Tom McCarthy(screenplay by) Stars: Ewan McGregor, Hayley Atwell, Bronte Carmichael

LIKES:

Cute/Charming: When it comes to Pooh and the crew, the adventures are almost always cute and adorable. Christopher Robin continues this trend, making sure to rope in all of the classic goodness, but modernize it to the new families of the modern age. It is perfect for kids as the stuffed animals bounce around the town, but also for the current parents who grew up with the cartoons like I did. Nevertheless, that nostalgic atmosphere will come in this charming adventure that somehow brings the feel of the classics into the new form of live action.

Clever Wit: The references in Pooh are not for the casual audience member, but for fans like me, there is hidden treasure in the references. Nostalgia again is the leading quality, but Christopher Robin had me chuckling with all the well-timed, well-delivered, bumbling of Pooh and the Crew. There are plenty of misunderstanding moments that will have the older audience members enjoying it the most, while the kids will love the goofy slapstick that follows from the disbelief of the supporting casts. I can easily say that this movie is definitely a little more targeted for the older crowd in terms of dialogue.

Emotional Growth: Where most of the Pooh adventures are silly, whimsical feats of seeking out enough honey to fill Pooh, Christopher Robin falls on the spectrum of those episodes that were more serious. It's about a new stage of life through McGregor's character and it does a nice job of balancing the numerous emotional stressors that comes with growing up. This film does a fantastic job of portraying that line between kid and adult, and how both are important for raising the family. It will speak deeply to those with families of their own, and seal a spot in the heart as the greatest Pooh movie of all time.

The original voices/Animation: With a Disney movie, the animation is always good, so no need to go into too many details. The big thing to mention, is that the stuffed animals look like stuffed animals, so the design is great on that lone. However, my favorite aspect is that Jim Cummings came back to bring Pooh/Tigger to life once more. His voice alone is the source of Pooh's comedy, bringing that sweet innocence with it that pulls at your heart strings like the silly old bear can. As for Tigger, he is still the energetic, manic tiger who doesn't understand the word limits. While the other voice actors were good, Jim was the winner for me as a key pillar of the movie.

DISLIKES:

Predictable: No surprise, the movie doesn't have too many twists and turns for being a family movie. It pretty much hits a line drive to the family life lessons, to keep it perfect for its target audience, (aka staying away from the dark and obscure). It's not that I was surprised at all, but as a reviewer I have to look at all aspects.

Limited audience: Pooh is not for everyone, and unlike other Disney movies, not everyone is going to love this. While I did enjoy the comedy, it's specificity for Pooh comedy is going to limit it to a small number of people, and not all kids are going to enjoy the mellow pace of the movie. So, its branching out was not quite achieved the way they wanted to in my opinion.

More Haley Atwell: I know the film is about Christopher Robin (hence the title), but you would have expected a little more integration of the wife if they were going to pull the daughter in. Atwell played her part well, but I wished they had incorporated her side of the story more and helped round out Christopher's story.

More Of The Other Animals: Again, I know the relationship between Pooh and Christopher is the key, but I do wish that the other animals had their appendages in the film a little better. Still more screen time than I anticipated, but they could have been incorporated a bit more to really max things out.

Missing The Whimsy: This comes from loving the new adventures, but I really missed the full-on imagination that came with the original cartoon series. Because the emotional aspect is blended so well into the movie it takes away from the adventure theme that I loved. Not bad at all mind you, I just missed that favorite aspect from my childhood.

The VERDICT:

By far Christopher Robin is the best family movie of the summer, and the must watch for those with young members in their family. It hits its key demographic hard and manages to balance the movie in many aspects to grab kids and original generation hard. Sadly, they may have done this job a little too well, because general audiences may not appreciate the full glory of this movie, and the styles they chose. In addition, the movie just misses that adventure component that Disney movies are famous for, to instead go down the predictable, preachy, emotional pathway that they tend to do. So, is it worth a theater visit? The answer is yes if you are that key demographic, but otherwise skip this until you get it in theaters.

My scores are:

Animation/Adventure/Comedy: 8.0-8.5 Movie Overall: 7.0
33 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A decent enough family film.
Hellmant14 September 2018
'CHRISTOPHER ROBIN': Three and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

A live-action/CGI fantasy film, from Disney Studios, about a grown-up Christopher Robin, who's lost all of his childhood imagination, so he's visited by his old stuffed-bear, Winnie the Pooh, in order to help him get it back. The film stars Ewan McGregor, Hayley Atwell, Bronte Carmichael, and the voices of Jim Cummings and Brad Garrett. It was directed by Marc Forster, and written by Alex Ross Perry, Tom McCarthy, Allison Schroeder, Greg Brooker and Mark Steven Johnson. The movie has disappointed at the Box Office (slightly) so far, but it's gotten mostly decent reviews from critics. I enjoyed it, and I found parts of it to be really magical and even touching at times. It's somewhat slow-paced though, and not nearly as nostalgic as it seems like it should be (or could have been). Still, it's a decent enough family film I think though.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great feel good family film
alindsay-al25 August 2018
I grew up as a kid with The Winnie the Pooh cartoon so when I heard about this film I had a real interest and this film is just a really good feel good film with an important message especially for families. The premise of the film sees a grown up Christopher Robin tracked down by Winnie the Pooh to help find their friends. Ewan McGregor plays Christopher Robin and I thought he did a great job. He has a really tough job as he has to come across as quite a miserable character that you aren't meant to root for but he is just such a likeable actor. His journey throughout the film though cliche is really well done and feels appropriately done. The supporting cast is great Hayley Atwell plays Robin's wife and I thought she does a good job in the film, she just fits this role very well and I liked her and McGregor's chemistry in this film. I thought the actress that played their daughter also did a really good job especially for a child actress. All the favorite characters are back and I really liked the portrayals of all of them, Tigger, Piglet, Eyore are all really well achieved. But the standout of this film has to be Jim Cummings voicing Winnie The Pooh, this was the perfect portrayal of this iconic character. He is just ridiculously lovable and charming, His role in the film is perfect and I truly loved this character. The story has a great message about growing up, and living life to the full that can be great for young children and family. However, this film is incredibly predictable and cliche and to watch this film as an adult it is clear to see and hurts the overall flow of the film. The script has some really charming humor in it that is fun especially with these iconic characters. Also when used the drama actually has some importance to it and works well. The style has some really well done designs especially for Winnie The Pooh. However, I didn't like the design of Tigger as it isn't orange enough which just didn't fit with me . Overall this is a great feel good film that should be watched especially by young kids.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed