Christopher Robin (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
548 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Bring TWO Handkerchiefs!
ludgateman-8762222 August 2018
I'm a 53 y old married man, and I saw this film on Monday with my wife. I went back to see it AGAIN on Tuesday, I loved it so much. Also, I teared up so badly on the first viewing, I needed a second fix to catch the parts I missed! Beautifully filmed, this is a must see for any adult still in touch with their inner "Christopher Robin". The scenes of Ewan McGregor sitting with Pooh on a log overlooking Ashdown Forest will stay with me forever (and I need a hankie now, just thinking about it!)

10/10 is not enough!
253 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Incredible!
nnotheis6 March 2019
This movie is beautifully written and makes you truly realize what's important in life. I'm 32 and in a job that is sucking the life out of me currently. It's truly not fair for my son and my wife to have to deal with the stressed out, grump I've become. I've already been thinking about a career change to get back the "old me" and it sounds corny, but this movie was a sign to get back to the old me - the happier me. Money and a career is great, but family and friends are so much more important. We've got one shot at this life. Maybe it's time for me to look in the mirror!
24 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It was great to relive my childhood...
kimiemegan22 August 2018
This was the first movie in ages where they did not focus on a romantic relationship but rather exploring relationships between friendship and family. Though, I do believe that the movie isn't suiting for very young viewers. As it might seem boring to them or rather the message conveyed isn't about them. Christopher Robin forgets about being happy due to his workaholic nature, this could really relate more to high school, college or working people. But, overall it's a great movie! It's great for laughs, reminiscing and a little tears
98 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie
ijacobs318 August 2018
As a nearing 40 dad, who works endless hours to make ends meet and make sure my family has the best of everythijg I can give them, taking my daughter met to watch this movie, not only had me in tears by the end, it made me think hard about what / where I'm heading in life, and what I'm missing out on in family time

This movie was amazing! Fantastic CGI and a story line that not only tugs on the heart strings , it kicks you so hard in the feelings , that you actually wake up and think about what happened to you
222 out of 257 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb..!!
sharad-seth12 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I have been reading reviews on IMDB for many years now... but never ever was I tempted to write one - till now. And I created my IMDB login just for this. What an amazing movie this was. Deepest life lessons explained through a very simple yet profound, a very well-known yet new-found character in the shape of Winnie. Everyone acted very well, including the young Madeline. But Winnie the Pooh just steals the show. And rightfully so. Go watch it to remember your earlier self. Or your present self. Maybe both. "What day is it, Christopher Robin?", asks Pooh. "It's today", he replied. "Well it's my favourite day...", Pooh concludes.
68 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring a handkerchief
jhechotek5 August 2018
I am a 56-yr old married white male and I went to see this film with my wife on a Saturday afternoon. I was blown away by the acting, the CGI, the storyline as well as the "life-lessons". The cinematography is superb with sweeping panoramas (vistas), gorgeous colors combined with stunning CGI.

Ewan McGregor gives an exceptional & very believable performance, and the newcomer Bronte Carmichael as Christopher Robin's daughter-Madeline.

This film is very family friendly: no violence, no profanity, no sex.

I can recommend this film to any/all fans of A.A. Milne's stories
268 out of 333 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nostalgia
ThomasDrufke22 August 2018
Christopher Robin got next to zero marketing and had little buzz surrounding its release. It's almost as if Disney wanted to put their efforts elsewhere because they weren't sure on who to market the film to. Well, to their credit, that's exactly how the movie felt to me. A mixture of adult themes with characters acting to cater towards children is a difficult line to market to. Especially since it's almost impossible to define who the actual target audience would be, even after I've seen it. Even with that said, I really adored this film. Full of nostalgia from familiar voices to just the satisfying feeling of watching a old fashioned Disney story unfold in live action form. Winnie the Pooh is an all-time great character in the Disney lore and he is beyond perfect in this film, with Jim Cummings returning to do voiceover once again. Does it take a little bit to get going? Sure, but it finishes with dazzle. The magic of Christopher Robin and the Hundred Acre Wood is absolutely back.

7.8/10
38 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't Listen To The Critics
eefseaff3 August 2018
I'm usually in accord with critic reviews, but I honestly do not understand the low ratings this movie is getting. Christopher Robin (2018) is gorgeously filmed, beautifully acted, and emotional without being overtly sappy. In my opinion, this is one of the most enjoyable films of the year, and I am sure that audiences will find its odd blend of gloom and whimsy to be delightful. 9/10
163 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Super sweet
ellieonlife25 August 2018
Wonderful movie with gorgeous cinematography perfect for children and adults alike. Sweet as honey and will tug at your heartstrings in an unexpected way. You may shed a tear or 2
37 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A True family movie, because it is for everyone in your family
mukul19049 November 2018
This movie is amazing on so many levels. The movie talks about friendship, growing up, kids innocence, today's rat race, leaving friends, watching world with simple-illusion eyes and so much. It really depends on how you see it. And CGI and the voice over of Pooh which really translated the sadness and loneliness of Pooh on screen.

A True family movie, because it is for everyone in your family!!!
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Critics are idiots in the most of the time.
christianogarcia17 November 2018
This movie is beautiful. She brings us the innocense while we remember our childhood.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
- So much love in this film, with themes of friendship, love, family and tenderness
rannynm1 August 2018
What day is it? Why it is today, my favorite day. I am a life-long Disney fan. While it is not surprising I loved seeing the characters from the Hundred Acre Wood come to life via CGI transformation, I was surprised to see A.A. Milne's beloved characters in their original book form, not their Disney animation form.

Christopher Robin does not spend a lot of time introducing the viewer to the characters from the idyllic forest where a young British boy spent time creating adventures with his friends - Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Piglet, Eeyore, Rabbit, Owl, Kanga and Roo. If one is not a Disney-phile, it may be hard to comprehend why a boy arrives from a tree to have picnics with animals.

That said, the Winnie the Pooh, Disney lover that I am, saw so much love in this film with its themes of friendship, love, family and tenderness. The vintage, live-action look is appealing and kept me intrigued wondering what the "silly old bear" would do next. Winne the Pooh is quite the adventurous wanderer as he goes in search of Christopher Robin who has grown up and works in London. The adventures suspend belief as grown-up Christopher Robin, well played by Ewan McGregor, originally annoyed by Pooh, remembers some of his favorite things, like "doing nothing" and realizing true north is his family and friends, plush or live.

As a grown man who has returned from World War II, married to Evelyn (Hayley Atwell) and father of a daughter, Christopher Robin is an efficiency manager for a luggage company or "a fish in the sea" as Winnie the Pooh says. He is a work-a-holic and has a taskmaster as a thankless boss. When told he must work rather than go on holiday to the country with his family, Christopher Robin attempts to take Pooh back to the forest where he and his woodsy friends awaken the lost child from within. They also meet his daughter Madeleine (Bronte Carmichael) and another adventure ensues. Madeline assists Pooh in getting to Christopher Robin when he needs all of them most.

For a franchise, which has historically targeted the very young, the film has melancholy themes. Visually, it is beautiful with its artistic production values and cinematography. The score is also very good. I give this film 4.5 out of 5 stars for the casting, cinematography, life lessons, amazing cult Winnie the Pooh references and music. I recommend it to ages 8 to 18, due to some mature themes. Reviewed by Kimbirly O., KIDS FIRST! Adult Juror.
150 out of 200 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Family Movie!
cameronsfx12 August 2018
Ewan McGregor gives another amazing performance as the titular character. Hayley Atwell is excellent and newcomer Bronte Carmichael brings youth to the movie. But, the star is Pooh. I do wish we had seen more Pooh. But, the hear with the small brain has a huge heart and goes about changing everything in Christopher Robbins' adult life for the better. Like I said, I wish there was more Pooh and Ewan together. It left me wanting more. The movie is a little dreary and wish there had been more bright colors in Pooh and his friends to really bring joy to the movie as soon as Pooh shows up. I really hope there is a sequel and it is Bronte discovering the land of Pooh and friendship with all his friends.

It's a great movie with a great message. You'll love it, and your kids will love it.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
philipfilmz22 August 2018
I have been a long time fan and this movie was terrific, completely keeping the magic alive. Metacritic are idiots for giving this a 59/100.
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Forget the Critics
iguy-922073 August 2018
See this movie with your kids for what it is, a charming escape from from reality for a little while. Don't over think the plot and characters like the critics are trying to do. Just get some popcorn and relax.

Oh, and the animation is excellant.
126 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Delightful movie
kg-007167 September 2018
My husband (65) and I (60) both liked this movie which is surprising because my husband likes action films. The acting is good. The animal characters are so cute and well done as far as CGI goes. Some say the ending is predictable which is certainly fine with me. So much of life is unpredictable and scary; I don't want to pay money to see a movie that is frightening or has a disappointing ending. I'm not a "movie critic." I just know when I'm glad that I saw a movie and this is one of those times. It is a great family movie.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truly Great
muvbuff-4573717 August 2018
Christopher Robin is a truly great and heartwarming film about the importance of family and friends on one's life. Not only written incredibly well and acted perfectly, the film has a lot of realism to it, even with talking stuffed animals as part of the cast. Blending very real everyday hardships with fantasy gives the film a contrasting look at how bleak the world is when we don't realize what is truly important and tells us to remember our childhoods and try to be a better parent by being a kid with your kids. Overall, the film displays a heartfelt message with a cast of fun characters from an iconic series and does so very well and I suggest you go out and see this movie.
60 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It is a must for adults.
dance-fighter1 January 2019
I recommend it to all adults, especially parents... People use to make fun of me and ask me "why do I still keep all of my teddy-bears and stuffed toys?". The answer is because every each one of them has memories from my childhood. I still have them in my bedroom, even thought they are sooo many I don't have enough space to store them. And I still love them, take care of them, and treat them as they are alive... Just like Christopher Robin. I think that's what most adults need to understand. And this movie it's the best to watch to make them understand.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful, charming and simply magical
urekedenis11 December 2018
I'm 40 years old and found this movie completely and utterly wonderful. A movie about family, love and the things that really matter.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Get Ewan McGregor an award....
bellegirl-772509 December 2018
I bought this blindly on bluray and DVD and oh my gosh at 27 I read bawling so hard and too me no words can describe how much I LOVE this movie. ESPECIALLY Ewan McGregor who wad just phenomenal. He's always been one of my favorite actors and this was one of the best roles ever. This has such an AMAZING story and message and to me it says that your job, school and other things will be the hope entire life but your kids won't be.

And the best thing about this is that there's A TON of references to the original animated movie. And Tigger even sings his song at some point ;) so go watch this movie!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazingg
ThienPhuc5417 November 2018
OMG, at first, I was just into love with Pooh and his ridiculous but mealting-hearted says. Then I recognized the message that they implied. Really enjoyable film ever!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfection
glow-2963915 November 2018
This movie brought me back through history and fashion. I enjoyed it and it gave me that feeling when you know a movie is good
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See
megancremins3 August 2018
I was in tears for the duration of the movie. If you're a fan of pooh, you'll love this movie. Some original songs were brought back which made the movie unforgetable.
82 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful!
kathecano-2973911 August 2018
It was lovely and beautiful from the beginning, I loved the way they showed them as real characters and not only in Christopher's imagination.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!
lozanoderrick22 August 2018
Disney turned out another good one this time. The animation of Pooh and Friends was way better on the screen then what I expected from the promo photos. Although the movie does tend pace of the slower side of things, Winnie and Christopher's interaction was charming and enjoyable to watch. Winnie the Pooh's character was simple, humorous, and logical. He could see right through Christopher's poor attitude as to how he chooses to live his life. However, I felt that this movie may have been tough for young children to understand in it that Winnie the Pooh did dole out soundly advice for Christopher to not be so caught up in his work and forget about having fun and spending time with his family. The parallels of Christopher transforming into that of a young boy as Pooh had seen him, was definitely something that young kids could not extract from the movie. Besides this, the movie was a great family movie that had a great evolving plot and some nostalgic short scenes that had a nod to the Disney cartoon classics in the '90's.
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed