Overlord (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
536 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Best Film Of This Year 2018 ( Score 9.5/10 ⭐ )
ymyuseda12 November 2018
Best Film Of This Year & Most Expensive Nazisploitation Film Ever Made ! Best Action Movie ! Best Director ! Best Storyline & Best Actor Actress !!
121 out of 169 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Seen at Toronto After Dark Fest
BenHarley113820 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was really excited to see this movie because of JJ Abram's involvement, and the trailer absolutely sold me, so when I saw this was showing a couple weeks early I made sure not to pass up the opportunity. So how was it? It was really good. I didn't think it was great, but it has some really cool stuff that was very entertaining, and overall I had a good time. The first thing I'll get into would be the VFX, which I believe were created by ILM. The gore effects were incredible and made me squirm in delight, and the opening sequence of the squads plane getting shot down over France was spectacular. It looks absolutely stunning and is equally terrifying, especially with the excellent sound design. The cast for the most part was good, I wouldn't say anyone was outstanding but they were really good. One comedic character in particular worked very well, and the dynamic between the leads was fun and interesting, but it never goes too deep. But let's face it, I didn't go to the movie for deep characters, I went for the WWII Nazi zombies. I was a little let down to be honest with the amount of zombie material in the movie. Maybe that's a little nit picky but a lot of the best zombie stuff was shown in the trailer, and although it's more fleshed out in the final film, it would've been nice to have seen some other crazy stuff that we hadn't already seen bits of. Then again, the zombie sequences and effects that are in the movie are fantastic, both creepy and undeniably fun. I guess I just would've liked a little more. I guess I'll end this by saying if you want a fun WWII/zombie movie, go see this. We need more R-rated blockbusters like this, so go support this one.
152 out of 234 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good quality production, nothing film
McEwansExported3 April 2019
Just over a hour in and we start to get some teaser of interesting action that is quickly dispelled as nothing much else happens.

the promise of zombie types simple does not materialize, leaving the strength of plot exposed to enthusiastic acting let down by the trailer.

Not worth watching.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Most Expensive Nazisploitation Film Ever Made
Krush_Burner6 November 2018
This is not the first time when J. J. Abrams put the finances into the risky project (remember "Cloverfield"), but this is definitely a curious choice for such a filmmaker. "Overlord" is the rare hybrid of a WWII film and a zombie horror - kind of movies that were prosperous back in 1970s and early 1980s, but has been long gone since then. And even in those times most of them were cheap and cheesy exploitation films, full of gore and nudity. (And yes, lots of people nowadays will think not of grindhouse cinema, but rather of "Call Of Duty" or "Wolfenstein" game series, which is an obvious point of reference here.)

And "Overlord" nearly perfect in assembling those pieces of a Nazi zombie horror movies into one single story. The plot is simple, action-packed and has it all: lots of fighting, shootings, machine guns and flamethrowers. The characters are schematic, almost one-dimensional, because it's not WWII drama, and that's enough. The SFX are great, there's a lot of blood and guts here, exactly what one can expect from a film which involves Nazis, experiments with (un)dead, and covert military operation.

However, there's some minor but annoying mistakes in presentation of some important plot elements, which hard to left unnoticed. Perhaps the most striking example of such retroactive anti-militaristic message is when Cpl. Ford decides to stop Nazis once and for all near the end of the film: his attitude looks a bit anachronistic in 1940s and such views for an U.S. soldier were much more credible rather after Vietnam War than during the WWII. There's also a very implausible fight between two main characters before the final onslaught, which looks ridiculous within the context of the upcoming Overlord operation.

But it all can easily be put aside, because "Overlord" is the Nazispoltation at its best: dark, bloody, action-driven horror about zombie soldiers trying to take over the world. Take it for what it is, and have fun.
152 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A mediocre war movie with a dash of sci-fi horror
SpecialNeedsRancor19 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Technically well-made, well acted, and beautifully shot. But very little happens in the way of horror or advancing the main plot until over an hour in.

Most of the characters with the exception of one, make horrifically stupid decisions through out the film. There's maybe less than five minutes of actual horror.

A complete waste of time if you were expecting to watch a zombie war flick. Nowhere near as entertaining as an actual B movie (which this movie is not) or as satisfying as a real action flick.

This movie couldn't decide what it wanted to be so it ends up not delivering in any department. Save your time.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Call Of Wolfenstein: Overlord
Pjtaylor-96-13804411 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
'Overlord (2018)' certainly has tonal issues, often being properly horrific but seeming to want to inject humour at the most inopportune of moments. It's also quite schlocky essentially every time it tries to do anything more traditionally 'war movie'-esque. This is especially prevelant in the moments where it wants us to believe its heroes are being overtly and defiantly heroic, in spite of their army-given orders or previously quite unlikable (sometimes contemptible) character-traits, or in the times where it tries to tie its events directly into the narrative of the overall Second World War - which is actually quite disturbing not in its slightly jingoistic and strangely campy ending but in its undercurrent of Nazi experimentation, something that did really occur to an extent perhaps less sensational but far more despicable than what's seen here. Really, the issues come down to the writing, which isn't as nuanced as it perhaps thinks it is but also isn't as straight-forwardly 'genre-specific' as it perhaps ought to have been. There are times when the flick works, though, which mainly come when it slips straight into the fantastical, horror territory where it feels most at home and, indeed, adept. Here, it puts the historical context further into the background than before, using it as a backdrop for a sort of silly but played-straight science-fiction flick that actually works well when it tries to scare and make squirm. The visuals are pretty much universally good and, aside from a couple of unnecessarily glorified gore-shots, the violence is presented as believably painful and properly gruesome, too. Ultimately, this makes for a flawed experience that's at its best when it just lets the viscera fly like it is slick, big-budgeted and generally very well put-together grindhouse-bound 'trash art'. 6/10
84 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointing at best.
kellvallon14 November 2018
I was very excited for this movie when I saw the previews for it. Unfortunately the advertising was much better than the actual film. If your looking for a good ww2 nazi horror film this is not it. Go play one of the Castle Wolfenstein games instead. Atleast they had better characters and story. With this you dont get any character development. The characters are not likeable and the story is vague. My recommendation is wait till it's on Netflix. This movie is not worth the price of admission.
148 out of 260 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Going to turn into a Cult Classic
jrugg199 November 2018
Overlord is essentially a B-movie with a Hollywood budget, great action, and a TON of gore. I really enjoyed this movie quite a bit, especially in the opening scene, which was shot very well. This movie is an action-horror set during World War II when a bunch of American Soldiers discover that the Germans are up to something sinister in one of their bases, and that is all I will say about the plot. It's awesome to watch. The films cast doesn't consist of any A-Listers or Superstars, but has a lot of recognizable faces such as Wyatt Russell, (who's performance reminded me a lot of his dad Kurt in The Thing), Pilous Asbaek and Jacob Anderson of Game of Thrones fame, John Magaro and Bokeem Woodbine, and newcomers Jovan Adepo and Mathilde Olliver as the leads. To sum it up, Overlord is the type of movie that is going to develop a fanbase years from now, it is very fun and will satisfy those both looking for intense action and gory horror, and I can easily recommend this. We can all thank Julius Avery for directing such a fun movie and J.J Abrhams for deciding to NOT turn this film into a Cloverfield movie.
142 out of 251 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Over and Under.
aciessi11 November 2018
In Nazi occupied France, in what I'd say is the same time period Aldo Raine was collecting scalps and chasing after Hans Landa, a ragtag group of paratroopers crash lands near the headquarters of a diabolical science lab where humans are taken against their will to guinea pig a top secret serum that transforms them into super-human zombies.

Overlord is exactly the kind of film you'd expect to see in the early 80's in the naughtier section of the video store. A WWII-set, Science-Fiction blood binge made for midnight viewings... or at least, that was the intention. Overlord, the actual film, has trouble expressing itself in this way. At times it takes itself too seriously. Other times, it goes for the gross out moment, but never takes it far enough. Overlord seems to be afraid of it's own shadow. It should've been more outrageous, more shameless and more hard-R that it is here. A worth while effort, and far from a cheap cinematic affair, but not satisfying.
90 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Why, why, why?
aramsdale20 November 2018
Brilliant aeroplane opening scene then really good 30 min then turns into a ridiculous, stupid choice making farce. Ruined with pathetic sentiment.
82 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Eternal Reich»
BiiivAL10 November 2018
Extremely infrequently Western cinema in recent years pleases the mass audience with pictures of the Second world war, and most of those that come out, are not always really good quality. But even less in production and the final release of the picture comes with a similar setting, but only in the genre of horror. The last thing I remember, is quite ambiguous "Army of Frankenstein", which is also told about a group of American soldiers in a distant province stumbled upon a secret German laboratory, where he conducted experiments on people. But the film was something of a tough thrash, but the picture of Julius Avery was much more expensive spectacle, and coupled with all of the above components, we got pretty not hackneyed spectacle.

A small detachment of soldiers breaks into the depths of one of the villages of France, which is a Church with a radio tower, which must necessarily be destroyed in order to German anti-aircraft guns could not bring down another allied air transport. The above squad includes the main character of the film - rookie Boyce. Almost all of his newly found comrades were killed during the landing on the territory of France, and he remained with corporal Ford, and a few soldiers-recruits. But ahead of them waiting for things much more terrible than just German soldiers.

The "Overlord" is actually just a great opening scene, which is made damn expensive, large-scale and certainly high quality. This is the scene of course repeatedly demonstrated in various trailers of the picture, but it does not spoil the impressions of it when viewing. Everything explodes, people shoot and tear to pieces, all around panic and real hell, the picture immediately makes it clear that everything is more than serious. But in General, in the future, all the dynamics pretty much subsides, but it does not go into any huge minuses "Overlord", as what is happening constantly throws something new for the squad of the main characters. Despite the changing dynamics in a much smaller channel, the film tries to keep some intrigue, and the intrigue sometimes even manage to abide by it. The main problem of "Overlord" is the plot, which is needed here as if for show, just to show the extermination of the Nazis and other villains in the setting of the Second world war. At the same time, the picture is filled with some incredible number of stamps and completely banal types of characters. Here you have the rookie main character, which gradually becomes hardened soldier, but you are his commander, the man for whom to obey orders above all else, he loves to joke, and this behaves like an asshole, and of course nowhere without pavada. But about these things you often forget when the film reappears episodes with action, as well as the injection of a certain atmosphere.

I am glad that from the "Overlord" in fact expect not so much, that is, you certainly expect a little more scale, similar to a larger action, but in principle, and that there is, in my opinion is enough for positive impressions from the view. Here is also important the fact that something like this comes out very rarely and perhaps this is the only opportunity for the next few, or even more years, to see the bloody action with the Nazis and "zombies" in one package. This of course is not so crazy spectacle as some "Iron sky", but noticeable pretty thorough approach of the creators, which is still worth praising.
29 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I hoped for more...
dlbearcave-22 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I heard so much about this film that I went into it with high expectations. The opening 1/3 of the movie was a cliche per minute and almost totally ripped off from "Band of Brothers" Plus it was loaded with unrealistic things like black men serving in mixed race units, and a mixed unit with a black sergeant. These things never would have happened, it just wasn't done at that time. I started wondering if I was seeing the right movie.

So once the horror part of the movie began I noticed it was again ripped off, this time from "Return To Castle Wolfenstein". Very little of it was even slightly surprising, since I played the game all the way through 15 yrs ago.

I found it to be unoriginal, unrealistic and predictable. I guess it's just me. 2 stars at best.
168 out of 311 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Shallow, cheap filmmaking meets Wolvenstein
burcak-baskan12 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Extremely shallow in every way. Logic of the story fails in the very basics, tries to soup it up with very loud noises, explosions, shaky cam, close up shots on shocked faces, goes into horror mode and opts to scare you with cheap tricks. You also get all the politically correct narrative: All Germans are Nazis, all of them are totally evil and should be shot on sight, evil white men do evil things and the pure, baby faced black guy does all the right things oh and the girl kicks ass. Really? This is the best you came up with in 2018? Sorry I don't have any tolerance for film scripts that choose to pick parts off a scenario lego set and call it art. The supporting cast do as good a job as they can given the abysmal script but the main character fails and not just because of the bad script. Visually it's not entertaining, even on the wide screen of a movie theater i felt like i was watching a cheap computer game animation on my computer screen. Fitting I guess as the story is pretty much Wolvenstein 3D of ancient days. Except the hero mainly runs away instead of gunning everything down.
113 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
High expectations cus of reviews and i love a good b-movie but this turned out to be a boring one.
benj-2083916 November 2018
I really felt conned by the halfway point of this, from then on i kept thinking that i'd rather have waited for it to come to TV instead of wasting time and money on it.

From what i just watched, its not the "fun, original, scary, gory, inventive thrill-ride, maximum shock value, insane" film its been reviewed to be. Definitely NOT scary or gore filled, and with the $38 million budget you'd have expected A LOT more!

The opening 5-10 minutes the reviews have been raving about was ok, its not an opening that would warrant a cinema visit, it ain't no Saving Private Ryan, Edge Of Tomorrow, etc battle scene, as it's over in a flash, roughly 1 or 2 minutes of action, pretty much whats in the trailer and the rest is characters chatting! Then it quickly slows to its meandering pace, with been-there-done-that scenes with added cheese and cliche characters, which start to wear your hopes for a fun big budget B-movie way he f down. I just became bored and just hoped for an outstanding action filled and creative finale to win me over. But NO, the ending is just standard gun play, explosions and one fight that's over way too soon and that's your lot! I would have been satisfied if it had maybe matched an exciting Expendable's type finaly as it was a similar premise.

It's a film that never takes its idea's far enough, never too crazy or too gory but just a very controlled and safe 18 certificate B-movie. And it's a movie that mostly relies on the stupidity/naivety of its lead character to make the plot move forward. If you're after a subtle b-movie then this may be for you

I was really looking forward to this because i'd read really good things, and i missed Slaughterhouse Rulez cus of this.

An episode of the Walking Dead is more exciting, gripping, tense and fun.

Check it out and make up your own mind up but i've given you a heads up. I didn't expect the grindhouse style of Planet Terror with Overlord but Planet Terror was a great fun big budget B-movie!!
114 out of 210 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great blend of genres (each done well) - shame about the final 30 mins
GoldenBlunderbuss6 November 2018
If you want to go in to watching this film without seeing the trailer, then don't read any reviews - including this one. There are no spoilers beyond what the trailer shows.

I make that opening claim because if you hadn't seen the trailer, you wouldn't know of the dual-genre nature of Overlord. The genre shift to full-blown 'zombies-but-not-quite' action comes after 75 minutes of truly brilliant wartime drama with some moderate scares. The opening scenes of the paratroopers entrance to the war-torn French countryside is a particular highlight for its chaotic, intense and disorientating depiction of what it must've been like for those who did the deed for real in WW2.

The horror element begins to build early on but is never an indication of the upcoming genre shift (if you've not seen the trailer, at least) until the point (From Dusk to Dawn style) where it's made clear that we're not in Kansas anymore. The only bummer I can think of is the film falls into the trap of a predictable final 30 minutes. With all the enjoyment had before then, it's so disappointing to feel let down at the last hurdle.

The soundtrack is immense, the cinematography is brooding without being dark (a style which works for both of the film's genres), and the CGI special effects are affectingly convincing. Don't expect great things from the script (which includes several awful one-liner comebacks), but I think this film will go down as one of the great zombie films of recent years, and may even be noted for its even better turn as a war film.

Best quote: "What is this?!" - "Our greatest achievement. With it, we create super-Nazis; a thousand year army and it's thousand year soldiers."
105 out of 194 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining with flaws...
JalilOfficial1 November 2018
Let me start of by saying... The movie was nice. Expected a bit more horror and maybe even more zombies. That would have made it a perfect score for me. Nonetheless what it did have was a lot of action and a lot of tension. Overall a fun watch and everybody in the room enjoyed it. Heroic storyline, a lot of gore, one of the best opening sequences I've seen in a while and some decent humor. Grab your boys and catch it at the movies if u can. Popcorn flick for a good time at the movie theater! Don't expect an Oscar contender here! Then You'll have plenty fun!
82 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Incompetent crap
Matt34524 November 2018
Terrible writing: absolutely terrible characters, terrible dialogue, terrible story-development. And, besides, probably some of the worst WW2 American soldiers ever put on film, not all of which seems even intentional. That the plot would be dumb is kind of a given, but this is just incompetent, and given the cheesy bloat and self-importance of a big production to make it fully insufferable. The dialogue is the kind of terrible that is not merely hammy and clichéd, but the kind that knows it can be clichéd and "not smart", and therefore is satisfied with just being plain bad. The characters are so awful, one can't call them characters, but just attempts at ones which are played by actors with specific faces. The same as for the dialogue and plot, their "deliberate" attempts at being awful are indistinguishiable from them just being badly written. Yes, some of the things we are shown are also somewhat "terrifying" (actually just a small selection, which by the way doesn't include such attempts like a jumpscare by a soldier seeing an ordinary corpse in WW2), to get that semantic ambiguity out of the way, however the movie is unbearably bad and not entertaining after the basics are established...
96 out of 180 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A New Take on WWII
lucreziacampigli22 February 2019
Even if not historically accurate, this science fiction take on the Second World War shows all the emotions and the traumas that the soldiers, as well as basically everyone who wasn't a nazi, had to experience. This movie is very graphic so viewer's discretion is advised.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Overrated!
moneil-5768921 February 2019
Two gigantic Hollywood money machines (fake history and science fiction) rolled into one gigantic failure (Overlord) that delivered absolutely NOTHING! No plot. No twist. No joy. No fear... just a 10 dollar entry fee!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mixed feelings
vesannia-8554010 February 2019
The protagonist was SO irritatingly "good" and moral and even though you may think, it's a guy who has never been to war, his actions and attitude in all of the movie are so idiotic, maybe you needed a guy to be like him to make the plot evolve, but this guy's way of always trying to do "the right thing" in the most nagging way ruined (at least for me) what it was supposed to be just a fun zombie-nazi movie.

Appart from that, it's not that bad, it was fun to watch
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun and Action
snt04300511 November 2018
Perfect blend of WW2 action, zombies and gore. Don't go into this expecting Oscar nominations, and you'll enjoy the ride. It was exactly what I expected- I was entertained for close to 2 hrs. Got my money's worth.
63 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total Trash
tbridges-5155731 January 2019
Stupid premise, awful special effects, insane acting. Waste of time.
58 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rewriting History For The PC Generation.
danoftheworld-8555514 November 2018
Okay, it's a zombie movie (and I use the term zombie lightly as it's not really got any zombies in it just super strong humans) but it is still set in the real world during WW2. TV shows/Movies and games these days are rewriting history to cater to the PC snowflakes. History wasn't PC so stop sugar coating it and tell it like it really happened before we all start to believe all this crap.

The story is not great either with no likable characters no real plot just a lot of disjointed scenes thrown together. Makes you feel like they didn't quite know how to finish their war movie so just threw in a few "zombies" at the end. These days it seems the trailers are better than the actual movies themselves.
116 out of 231 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good story that took way too long to get to the point of.
peita_lollback13 March 2019
The actually basis of the story is string and the movie could have got into the nitty gritty of it much earlier in the movie. Instead ot drags on until the end when all comes to light and then as expected the good guys win. Good for watching when you have nothing else to watch.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The preview looked promising but the movie itself felt flat with a huge thud
bradinhanson14 November 2018
The character is dull and doesn't want to hurt a fly even though it's a war movie. He was easily the worst part of the movie and was hard to engage in the film all because of him. His team is hysterically 2-dimensional and comedic during intense moments asking yourself if this is a comedy or a war movie. There were parts that left me squirmish because of intended rape. But probably the worst combo came from a dull movie with plenty of jump scares. No build up just jump scares out of the blue. Of course the movie often relied on the stupidity of characters to make the plot moving forward. I get that corporations are trying to recruit for their privitized armies and all but they went a little to hard on "you can be the insignificant guy and still be a hero." How cute.
63 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed